EQ Love Yoga Mat review!

22 Aug

With vacation preparation and trying to tie up loose ends at work, I have had no time to use my brain for blog ideas! I need to keep the habit of blogging up, but it’s hard when you just don’t have much to talk about.

I know this sounds self-centered,  but I’m kind of the hub of my department at work (I wish my paycheck reflected that…), and I have a feeling they are going to need something from me next week while I’m gone, so I’m trying to make it super easy for everything to be located. That means this afternoon, I will be spending some serious time cleaning my desk from top to bottom. The thought of someone having to use my desk/computer/files and them being messy makes me cringe, so part of me being able to relax on vacation includes not worrying that my desk is a mess! Are you like that? 

I do have one thing to talk about today, so I overdid it with the photos. Yesterday when I got home from work, guess what was outside my door waiting for me?

The EQ Chakra yoga mat that I won from Kristin McGee’s blog!! Man, was I excited. I didn’t even take off my work clothes before having a photo shoot with the mat and the adorable hot pink bag that came with it!

This is the nicest yoga mat bag I’ve ever had the pleasure of owning. First of all, it’s the best color. I’m not much of a hot pink girl in general, but I like accent colors and this will go good with my mostly black and grey yoga apparel. It has tons of pockets, I don’t even know what I would keep in them all! There are mesh pockets at the bottom that can hold water bottles, and more pockets up the sides, maybe for your wallet or keys, and there is a nice sized cell-phone pocket on the front of the strap, for easy access. Finally, the bag is lined with silk, making it very easy to slide the mat in and out.

After I did my photo shoot, I layed the mat out and did some yoga. Have you ever tried to photograph yourself while doing yoga? Not easy. I have some hilarious photos that will not see the light of day. Let’s just say forward bend is NOT attractive from behind. haha.

Of course, I’m doing Kristin’s MTV Power Yoga DVD in this photo.

The mat itself is great. It’s thick and sticky. The smell right out of the box was a little strange, but not nearly as offensive as the cheapo mats I’ve had in the past. It was more of a “new mat” smell, and I’m sure once I’ve used it a few times it won’t smell like that anymore. I used it on carpet, but the purple underside of the mat is textured and I can imagine wouldn’t slip on wooden yoga studio floors.

I give this mat a great big thumbs up. I cannot wait to take it to a class! I might try to squeeze in the 8 AM Saturday yoga class at the gym, even though my Saturday schedule is already so packed.

The EQ Love Yoga Mat isn’t available for sale yet, so I’m not sure how much it costs, but if you’re in the market for a quality yoga mat, I’d recommend it. A big thank you to EQ Love and Kristin McGee for the opportunity to try it out! You can read my stalkerish idolizing post about Kristin here.

Oh, and as much as I enjoyed my new mat, I think the cats enjoyed the packaging equally as much:

At one point I tried to throw out that big box and it was really heavy because there were two cats in it!

Question of the Day:
Do you ever take yoga classes? Do you bring your own mat? 

5 Responses to “EQ Love Yoga Mat review!”

  1. Alicia Orozco August 22, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

    That mat looks good with you! Although I find your kitty’s playing with the box so cute! I really don’t take yoga, mainly because I can’t move that way with my stomach in the way. But it is something I would like to take some classes once a few pounds off.

    Good luck with your work, your not the only one that cringes!

    • kristyshealthrevolution August 22, 2012 at 5:09 pm #

      Haha! Thanks Alicia, they love boxes, but only new boxes that haven’t been in the house before. Have you ever tried a beginners yoga? That’s what I love about yoga, it’s very adaptable.

  2. paski August 23, 2012 at 6:39 am #

    Thank you for the good writeup. It in truth was a amusement account it.
    Glance advanced to far brought agreeable from you! By the way, how can we communicate?

  3. Alex @ Brain, Body, Because August 23, 2012 at 9:24 am #

    I like to bring my own mat to yoga class because I feel bad about sweating on a studio’s mat :P

    • kristyshealthrevolution August 23, 2012 at 9:25 am #

      Me too! Luckily, the yoga studio I go to provides cleaning solution and paper towels so I can clean up after myself :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,056 other followers

