Surgery

5 Feb

Today, I had oral surgery. I was sent to the surgeon to get one wisdom tooth that was partially impacted removed. Once I arrived, they decided to remove all of my wisdom teeth.

I'm sexy and I know it.

I’m sexy and I know it.

Zach and I left at 7:15 am to go to the Surgeon’s office. He waited for me in the waiting room, and I went back. This was the most efficiently run doctor’s office I’ve ever been to. For Huntington locals, I highly recommend Mountain State Oral Surgeons. First of all, I was able to fill out all my paperwork online prior to my appointment, so that made things go by very quickly. I was taken back, they did an x-ray of my whole mouth.

Next, they took me into my exam room, hooked me up to an EKG monitor (so I could hear my heart beat in the form of a beep). The doctor came in, introduced himself and looked at my mouth, at which time he said he suggested just going ahead and taking them all out.

Next, one of the office staff came in to discuss my payment options. The total bill was a bit of a shocker, but she said that my medical insurance will cover some of it most likely. The rest I’ll be responsible for, since I don’t have dental insurance. I went ahead and payed the bulk of the bill at that time and then they will charge my insurance and I’ll pay whatever is left after that’s taken care of.

Next, two new nurses came in to hook up my IV and give me the meds to put me to sleep. She was very nice, and they started talking about workout DVD’s, which as you know I’m very interested in, so I joined in the conversation.

This is the funny part: She said, “Ok, I’m going to put in your IV now, you’ll feel a pinch” — that’s when I heard the beep on my monitor start to speed up. Then she said, “Ok, now I’m going to give you the medicine and you’ll start to feel sleepy.” That’s when I heard the beeping on my monitor slow waaaaay down. Haha.

After that, the rest is history. Next thing I knew, I was…well, home. I vaguely remember waking up and somehow Zach was there. I know I cried because later I felt dried tears on my cheeks, but I don’t remember that. Zach said that the nurse said, “She’s not going to remember any of this, so you need to pay attention.” I also remember barely being able to walk. They pushed me to Zach’s car in a wheelchair and even once we got home, I had a lot of trouble walking to the couch.

All in all, it took an hour, tops. I was pretty amazed at how quickly it all went by. I’m in a marginal amount of pain right now. I’ve been icing my mouth, and I just took my first pain pill, so the pain is subsiding.

Let’s just talk about my fabulous fiance for a second. Once he got me settled on the couch, he went to the grocery store to fill my prescription, and also rented me a movie from the Redbox and bought me TWO kinds of ice cream. Then he came home, got me some ice cream, and then went back out to get my prescriptions. What a guy. He’s also staying home with me today, and even though we’re currently doing our own things, it’s really nice to have him here.

I’m not sure when I’ll be able to eat/talk, or go back to work….or anything, but for now I feel pretty much like laying on the couch is the extent of my activity for at least 24 hours.

Question of the Day:
Have you ever had oral surgery? Tell me all about it! 

 

 

13 Responses to “Surgery”

  1. Adam Daniels (@daniels313) February 5, 2013 at 11:43 am #

    When Ashley had hers out, she was a crying mess when she woke up too, She doesn’t do well with the anesthesia, so she was out of it through the entire day. We still joke about how she woke up in the middle of the night to see a Dolly Parton video and rambling about how beautiful she was. Hope you feel better soon. When I was able to eat after mine, I famously ate 3 Big Macs. I doubt you will do the same.

  2. sushisushibento February 5, 2013 at 11:54 am #

    I am due for oral surgery that I’ve asked to be knocked out for :S I’ve already had 2 wisdom teeth out, where they just literally stood on my face and yanked them out, but the third one is growing funny so they’re going to have to cut my gum and stuff, eeeew :S

  3. wildwoodflwr February 5, 2013 at 12:01 pm #

    I hope you feel better asap!

    I had 6 wisdom teeth that had to be removed when I was 13. I remember afterwards telling my parents I loved them a lot. My mom had to improvise a safety belt in the wheelchair because I kept sliding out of it onto the floor. I felt like I was made of pudding. They gave me some really strong pain medicine so I don’t remember much of the recovery week.

  4. Molly February 5, 2013 at 12:08 pm #

    I hope you feel better! Yikes – what a surprise! You go in to get one taken out and end up with all 4 of them being removed :(

    I didn’t have dental insurance when I got all 4 of mine removed either, so paying that bill out of pocket was TONS of fun (and by fun, I mean it was awful). Also, apparently when I was going under, I told them I wanted to take home my teeth because the next thing I remember, I was in the recovery area, showing my roommate my removed wisdom teeth.

    • kristyshealthrevolution February 5, 2013 at 1:18 pm #

      Haha! The funny things we do in recovery. I honestly don’t know what happened in there. The only thing I remember is the iv and then being on my couch. Haha.

      • Molly February 5, 2013 at 2:27 pm #

        And now your fiance can pamper and cater to you for days until you feel better :P

  5. Amanda February 5, 2013 at 1:08 pm #

    Kristy,
    I had all four of mine out at once, here in Charleston, several years ago. I had to pay almost $900 out of pocket (no insurance). And just in case people have been telling you horror stories- my recovery was awesome. No swelling, no pain (only took 1.5 pain pills, then Advil), and I was back to eating normally in 3 days. I hope you are as fortunate as I was, and that you have a speedy recovery :)

    • kristyshealthrevolution February 5, 2013 at 1:17 pm #

      I’m hopeful I will recover quickly! That sounds awesome. I’m already so starved, Haha. My bill was just over a thousand, but I’m hoping my insurance covers a little of that.

  6. Ashley Griffith February 5, 2013 at 6:48 pm #

    I had mine out in high school. When I woke up I was sobbing uncontrollably. The nurse said it was a normal reaction. My sister on the other hand…wow…she had the complete opposite reaction. She was laughing and talking about sex (including hand gestures) with Dr. Yates, the nurses and my mom. It was awesome.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Inception Treadmill Workout « Kristy's Health Revolution - February 14, 2013

    [...] isn’t going as smoothly as January’s. It turns out that I spoke too soon when I said my oral surgery went well, I’ve been in pain ever since! Yesterday was the first day I didn’t feel constant [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,058 other followers

