How Crossfit has Transformed my Body Image

6 Aug

Happy Tuesday!

I hate to be anxious for time to pass more quickly — life is short, people — but, I’m very anxious for the next few weeks to fly by because we have some exciting events coming up! Not only is our wedding in just a month and 22 days, but we move into our new home in just 10 days, and we leave for our annual friends beach trip in just 19 days! What a month August will be for us :)

I haven’t really been blogging here lately, mainly because as I mentioned last time I posted, I’m thinking of changing up the format of this blog a tiny bit. However, today I am going to talk a bit about fitness!

Since I’ve joined Crossfit Thunder in July, I’ve noticed some pretty amazing changes in the way I look at food, my weight and my body in general, and I wanted to share that with you today. Prior to joining the Box, I said I would never:

- Join a Crossfit box (I did)
– Eat Paleo (I’ve been trying to keep paleo a bit lately)
– Stop weighing myself daily (I weighed myself this morning for the first time in weeks)

Obviously, I’m eating my own words!

1. Food

Before I started Crossfit, I was constantly eating and/or thinking about food. I was obsessed with it. It really started to weigh on me because I knew I was eating too much, but I was obsessed with getting my next meal. I think I definitely overestimated my caloric needs based on my activity level.

This is a paleo (ish) breakfast spaghetti that I invented yesteday. It was so good! Zucchini "noodles", peppers, onions and ground breakfast sausage topped with spaghetti sauce. Yum!

This is a paleo (ish) breakfast spaghetti that I invented yesteday. It was so good! Zucchini “noodles”, peppers, onions and ground breakfast sausage topped with spaghetti sauce. Yum!

Since I’ve been Crossfitting, I haven’t been nearly as obsessed with food. I’m not really sure why that is, other than I have noticed that I’ve managed to start looking at food for what it is: fuel. I no longer feel the need to snack between each meal – I’ll still have a snack in the pm sometimes, but not nearly as often as I used to. I honestly don’t know if this is due to Crossfit, but it happened right when I started going, so I feel like the connection is valid. I can’t express how exciting it is to me to be able to let go of my food obsession!

2. Weight

I have always been a compulsive scale watcher. Well, always meaning since I’ve lost the majority of my weight. Prior to losing the 70 lbs, I was a compulsive scale avoider! But since I’ve started Crossfit, I’ve completely lost interest in the scale. My goals have changed, and I’m more interested in improving these:

image (5)

 

…than seeing movement on the scale. In fact, I weighed myself this morning and realized that I’m 3 lbs heavier than when I started Crossfit! This realization may have brought me to tears before, but now I’m just assuming that I’ve been building muscle. I know I’m eating well and working out regularly, and that’s all that matters. It helps that I’m wearing a size 6 now, when previously I was in an 8-10!

3. Fitness Goals

One thing that has definitely changed is my fitness goals. Even when I first joined the Box, I was determined to get those miles in running and always, always tracked every mile with my phone. I would never take walking breaks, and I was obsessed with my pace.

photo (4)

 

Now, 90% of my runs are with Frank, sans phone or tracking device of any kind, and I let him stop to check out the squirrels whenever he feels like it. My goals are to get stronger and faster, but I realize from doing Crossfit that I don’t have to log a million miles and constantly work out to do that.

4. My Attitude

Exercise has been my hobby for some time now. I’ve always enjoyed it very much, but now, it’s more fun than ever.

image (7)

 

I love looking at the WOD for the next day and saying, “That looks awful! I can’t WAIT to try it!!” It’s so fun trying to out do yourself every week (and I’ll reiterate that I’ve never felt as if I was competing with anyone except myself). Plus, nobody takes themselves too seriously at CFT — you’ll just as often see one of the newbies giving tips to a veteran than the other way around. It just makes sense — you can’t see yourself doing the moves!

image (6)

 

…but just as often as people are being silly, they are being serious. We’re doing Olympic lifts, and it’s easy to get hurt if you’re doing something wrong, so it’s not all fun and games.

1013801_10151514038382536_1179196042_n

 

But it’s all about being “Stronger than Yesterday” — not stronger than your neighbor — and having a blast while you do it.

image (5)

 

Question of the Day:

Do you think of exercise as fun, or just a necessity? 

8 Responses to “How Crossfit has Transformed my Body Image”

  1. Shanni August 6, 2013 at 10:43 am #

    I feel the same way about food. I don’t think about it nearly as much. And being so strong makes me feel good about my big legs and butt! hehe!

  2. rachelaugh August 6, 2013 at 12:39 pm #

    I think of exercise as both. Now that I’m CF’ing it’s WAY more fun…the surprise is fun, the challenge is fun…and the results ARE THE MOST FUN. I haven’t weighed myself since I started CF in May…my clothes fit better than ever, and that’s all I need. :) Congrats on all your success and your wedding.

  3. authorkathryn August 6, 2013 at 2:57 pm #

    For me, exercise is both. Working out is essential to keeping healthy and fit and therefore leading a better quality of life. But sometimes working out is just plain fun! I love taking Zumba and Yoga classes or playing tennis. For me, these are fun ways to keep fit.

  4. aileenb August 7, 2013 at 9:58 am #

    Growing up, I tried to force myself to really, really like accounting. That sounds stupid, but I knew that doing taxes was something that everybody needs to do in life, so if I could enjoy doing something I needed to constantly do anyway, and get paid for it, my life would be relatively perfect.

    Then I realized that I can’t even subtract simple numbers in my head, and no matter how much I WANTED to like accounting, I was never going to.

    I’ve had that same struggle with fitness. Over the years, I’ve tried to like zumba, running, spinning, hiking, lifting, body-weight routines, gym machines, and yoga. It only ever sort of worked with yoga, and no matter how many years I practice, I will probably never be good at yoga. I will still leave ashtanga classes in tears because after six years I still can’t get my legs straight in a shoulder stand, and I probably never will.

    Some people just don’t enjoy accounting. Some people just don’t enjoy working out. I’m both those some peoples. But every April I hire an accountant and file my taxes, and every 30 days or so I find a new fitness routine to keep my body working, and I throw myself into it as hard as I can. I may never like doing either, but afterward I can sit on my couch for an hour and crochet a blanket while watching Sister Wives, and that IS something I like doing.

    P.S. You go girl. I can’t wait to see pictures of your wedding. I bet your arms are going to look super crossfit ripped in your gown.

    • kristyshealthrevolution August 7, 2013 at 10:00 am #

      What a great comment! What’s really funny, is that I’m also an accountant, so you and I are really different! Thanks for commenting, Aileen! I really enjoy your blog so this made my day :)

      • aileenb August 7, 2013 at 10:01 am #

        I seriously did not know you are an accountant. STOP LIVING THE LIFE I WANT TO LIVE.

  5. Jen@HealthyFoodandFamily August 14, 2013 at 5:28 pm #

    Once I ditched the “must lose weight” mentality and just started focusing on fitness and being better than I was the day before, my whole life has changed for the better!

    • kristyshealthrevolution August 20, 2013 at 8:27 am #

      Totally agreed! The whole idea of wanting to be stronger, faster, better than yesterday is so much better than trying to be thinner than yesterday!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,057 other followers

