Wedding Recap #1: Pre-Wedding

8 Nov

I don’t know if anybody will read this because I’ve basically abandoned my blog. I’ve been thinking about my blog — I wanted to change direction with it for some time now (I still do), but once I decided that, I kind of got stuck. Now that I’m married and settled into my new home, I really would like to start again, and I hope you’ll join me.

What better place to start than a wedding recap? I’ve started getting the professional photographs back, so let’s get to business on the first wedding recap, shall we?

Disclaimer: Most of the photos in this post were taken by the fabulous Mark Webb (please see his website here) and edited by the even more fabulous (sorry Mark) Courtney Bell (aka my sister-in-law — see her website here). 

I barely slept the night before my wedding. My best friend and bridesmaid, Allison, slept over that night. We watched Bridesmaids and then we got into bed. I tossed and turned all night, and popped right up at 5:30 AM for coffee and reflection. I wrote two letters to my husband-to-be: One letter telling him how excited I was to marry him, and a to-do list :)

Before I knew it, it was time to head to the venue. Allison put together all of the centerpieces that morning and I was to meet Courtney there to head out for hair and makeup:

1380599_10100635412879713_120216111_n

I took this picture

I realized that I was completely starved, so I hopped over to the gas station and got the bridal breakfast of champions:

Obviously not a professional photo :)

Obviously not a professional photo :)

My wedding day was pretty surreal from start to finish. I can’t even describe how I felt. I was excited, a little nervous and just kind of….floating. I wasn’t worried about things going smoothly — by that point I didn’t really care — I was just nervous because I was about to do something huge. Courtney and I headed to the mall where I got my makeup done by the fabulous Cassie Denkins at the MAC counter — seriously, she’s an artist:

Doesn't my makeup look incredible? And it stayed on all night!

Doesn’t my makeup look incredible? And it stayed on all night! (photo by Mark Webb Photography and Courtney Bell Photography)

After makeup times, it was off to my bridesmaid Susie’s house to get dressed:

ZKprewed002

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

ZKprewed008

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

ZKprewed010

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

ZKprewed022

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

ZKprewed027

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

ZKprewed052

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

ZKprewed054

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

ZKprewed059

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

ZKprewed060

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

After we all got dressed, I wanted to take a minute to have a drink of champagne with my ladies and give a toast. That worked out as well as to be expected for an emotional bride:

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

ZKprewed078

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

ZKprewed080

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

ZKprewed081

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

ZKprewed084

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

So, basically at this point, I was an emotional mess. I cried when I saw myself in the mirror, I cried when I talked to my bridesmaids — it was ridiculous! However, I didn’t cry when I got lipstick on my dress for some reason:

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

ZKprewed075

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

Oh well! Let’s get this show on the road! But just for a quick FYI, a quick dab with champagne was able to get that stain right out. Well, mostly. After getting dressed, it was time to head to our photo location for the First Look and formal photographs. Earlier in the day, while I was getting my makeup done, I realized that the wedding was the same day as Homecoming for a couple of the local high schools. We had originally planned to do the first look/formals in the park, but knowing that is where all the kids go before formals, I decided to change locations last minute. Honestly, I wasn’t fazed. Not too long before the wedding, I saw some photos that Mark had taken for a wedding at Marshall University (Zach and I both graduated from there), and I loved them, so I quickly spread the word. No big deal. We headed over there, and it ended up being the perfect location for the first look. The Student Center has two entrances: One faces out toward the main road, and one faces in toward the fountain (where we planned to do the photos), so I got dropped off outside the doors to the main road while everyone else went over to let Zach know I was there. Then when they were ready for me, I walked through the student center and out toward the fountain:

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

ZKprewed102

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

ZKprewed095

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

ZKprewed096

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

ZKprewed099

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

ZKprewed101

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

ZKprewed105

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

ZKprewed107

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

ZKprewed109

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

ZKprewed111

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

ZKprewed113

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

ZKprewed112

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

ZKprewed117

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

Can I just take a minute to rave about the First Look? Best. Idea. Ever. I know some people are traditionalists and want the “first look” to be coming down the aisle, but I guarantee you, he will be just as blown away by how you look both times! I can’t tell you how much calmer we both were after our first look. We both had nerves, and remember the emotional bride crying every second? She was gone after that first look — I was just ready to marry him and then have a party with my friends and family!

ZKprewed133

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

The other great thing about the first look is we were able to go right into the formal photos and family photos, so all we had to do was the ceremony and go straight to the reception. There was no waiting around for our guests, which was really important to me.

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

When we got done, we realized only the boutineers had made it to the photo site, not the bouquets:

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

…but again, it was no big deal. We just took a bunch of pictures without the bouquets until my dad showed up with them:

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography

Speaking of the bouquets, beautiful, right?

ZKprewed161

Mark Webb Photography/Courtney Bell Photography. Flowers by Jenni Roberts at CK Florist

My next wedding recap will be the formal photos and the ceremony!

Also, I’m going to work on some blog posts to put up next week in the interest of writing more often.

4 Responses to “Wedding Recap #1: Pre-Wedding”

  1. happyappalachy November 10, 2013 at 8:19 pm #

    Great pictures, Kristy. You looked so happy and in love!

  2. Sasha November 15, 2013 at 5:11 pm #

    Aw you guys both look so happy! You looked so beautiful and I loved the pops of yellow in your color scheme!

  3. Steph (@orangespoken) November 19, 2013 at 9:32 pm #

    Your wedding pics look amazing! Congratulations!!!!!

  4. olivetorun December 6, 2013 at 7:58 pm #

    Absolutely gorgeous!
    Our colors were grey and yellow too- such a fun combo!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,052 other followers

