Running Late

12 Jul

This morning, I was running late.

I didn’t wake up later than usual, I was out of bed about 4 minutes after my usual 5:15 AM alarm. I made my coffee and then started to plan my workout for the day, but I had some trouble deciding what I wanted to do. I knew I wanted to do a treadmill workout, followed by some strength training (I always do cardio first, more on that later), but I struggle with treadmill workouts.

If I get on the treadmill without a plan, I will not be there for very long.  If I’m running outside, I can just run and run and before I know it, an hour has passed. On the “dreadmill,” however, I get bored very easily, which is why I like doing things like hill workouts and speed workouts there — if I’m mixing it up, I’m too busy thinking about what speed/incline I need to be at rather than the fact that I’m basically running without going anywhere.

The first place I look for ideas for treadmill workouts is fitness blogs. Man oh man, do you ladies have some great workouts. Some of my favorite workouts have come from Julie over at Peanut Butter Fingers. But today, I took my inspiration from this post by Jess at Blonde Ponytail (love that blog name, by the way!). At this point, it was almost 10 minutes later than usual when I head out the door for the gym, so I was already running a little late.

It was such a lovely morning, I almost skipped the gym and went for an outdoors run, but I wanted to do some speedwork, so….

Basically, I ran one mile at 5.8 mph (incline set at 1.0, and it stayed there for my whole workout). Then, I alternated between a sprint for 1 minute and walking for 1:30. I added in a ladder for my sprints, so the first sprint was 7.0, and I went up from there. My fastest sprint (at the 2.0 mile mark) was 7.8, and then I dropped the speed slowly from there. All the walking was done at 4.0 (trust me, I needed the recovery). Jess called for running one mile easy at the end, but I ended up just doing half a mile, because at this point I was running very late. I knew I had to hurry if I wanted to get in some strength before I had to get home and get ready for work.

I watched the pilot episode for Pretty Little Liars on my Kindle while I ran. Totally fluffy and ridiculous show, which is PERFECT for watching while running!

It was a great workout! Then I hauled my butt downstairs to the weight room to squeeze in a quick strength workout. I’ll pause here to discuss the age old debate: Which should you do first, strength or cardio? Most everything I have read says that I’m doing it wrong by doing my cardio first. I’ve actually tried switching it around, but I just don’t like it. I prefer it this way, and I decided to just go with it. At least I’m doing it, right?

Here is what I did for strength today:

Superset 1:
1A) Barbell Back Squat: 40 lbs/12reps (3x)
1B) Assisted pull up: 90lb/10 reps (1x) – 100lb/10 reps (2x)

Superset 2 (3 sets):
2A) Single-arm dumbbell row: 12lb/12 reps (3x)
2B) Stability ball hamstring curl: -lb/12 reps (3x)

3) Dumbbell side lunge: 12lb/12 reps (3x)

I was supposed to do a superset with the side lunge and a reverse crunch, but I was running REALLY late so I just decided to do the side lunges.

I think I’d like to work on doing an unassisted pull-up. I’m adding that to my goals 🙂

By the time I got home from the gym, I was starving, but I knew if I wanted to be on time to work I’d have to shower and change right away. I have to get into the shower before Zach (my live-in boyfriend/BFF) or I will definitely be late . To make a long story short, I hadn’t made breakfast by the time I had to leave for work and I was STARVING. When I workout first thing in the morning, I usually do so on an empty stomach (except for coffee). I know, this is also a hotly debated topic, but it is just what works best for me. Unless I’m running late like I was today!

I had to pick up breakfast out, so I stopped at the bagel shop near work. I love bagels. Like, I loooooove bagels. Needless to say, I wasn’t too upset about this. I picked up my breakfast and headed in to work. By the time I sat down at my desk , I thought

I might pass out from hunger, so I dug into my bagel shop goodies:

Yum!

I got: An ‘energy’ bagel — basically a whole grain bagel with lots of goodies: nuts, seeds (rye seeds are my favorite, such good flavor) and I think oats too, a coffee and of course, I couldn’t pass up that huge cup of watermelon. I should have, it was $2 (I could buy a  whole watermelon for that much!), but I guess that’s why they say never shop on an empty stomach. I always get the cream cheese on the side, because otherwise they just PILE it on. Look at how much I had left over:

Not that I couldn’t eat that much cream cheese, just that I shouldn’t.

After I finished the bagel, I was so full I couldn’t eat the watermelon (see?), but it’ll make a nice mid-morning snack.

Today, my goal at work is to get up and do something away from my desk every 30 minutes, in an effort to sit less. Have you heard how bad sitting is for you?

Sitting is Killing You
Via: Medical Billing And Coding

Can you do an unassisted pull up? 

Do you ever buy breakfast when you’re running late? What do you usually get? 

Do you sit all day at work? How do you get your movement in, if so? 

5 Responses to “Running Late”

  1. Stacey @ GymandKitchen July 12, 2012 at 7:40 pm #

    Glad I came across your blog from the comment you left on FitBottomedGirls page! 5:15 am?!?! What time do you go to bed?
    I can do an unassisted pull-up (if I jump into it) that’s cheating right? If I’m running late – I grab a piece of fruit, yogurt, and a spoon. If I don’t have that in my fridge – I usually buy the exact same thing at a Starbucks. I don’t do a lot of sitting throughout the day – and I am thankful for that after reading your post about the dangers of sitting for long periods of time!

    • kristyshealthrevolution July 12, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

      Thanks SO much for the comment, Stacey! I’m heading right over to check out your blog 🙂

  2. Abby @ BackAtSquareZero July 12, 2012 at 8:36 pm #

    I am like you most days when I see how pretty it is I would prefer to run outside, but I know that I need to do the treadmill sometimes because it pushes me to go faster (otherwise I fly off).

  3. sharklegs July 12, 2012 at 9:18 pm #

    wow i could NEVER get up that early before work to go to the gym and workout. especially on an empty stomach! when i’m working i like to exercise a little bit after i get home to destress. i’m off for the summer, so during these times i like to workout a little after breakfast 🙂

Leave a Reply

