How do you log your exercise? Plus: Blog plans

16 Jul

How do you log your exercise?

Because I’m not good at it at all. I do have my tried-and-true way to log the miles I’ve run:

This is very high-tech, you guys.

When I come into my house from the gym or a run, this is the first thing I see. I have a blue sharpie and an orange sharpie clipped to the side, and I log my miles there. Then at the end of the month, I stand there with my phone and add them all up (and yes, I even logged .5 mile on Saturday, July 7th. I had a boot camp class and one of our circuits involved running around the track). I know this is very high tech and hard to grasp ;), but where there are miles logged, obviously that is what I ran that day. An orange circle with an X inside of it is a rest day and an orange circle with a dash inside is a x-training day or something else (yoga, group fitness class, etc.)

Please note the glaring lack of long runs in the month of July so far. I was doing pretty well with them in June, but life (and dangerously high temps) has gotten in the way. I’m being zen about it. I’m sure I’ll be in half-marathon shape by November.

In all seriousness, I’ve tried to use apps on my phone and online resources, but I never stick to it. I forget to turn the apps on when I’m on the treadmill or I just forget to sit down and add it to the online database. This is the one method I’ve consistently stuck to. But the problem is, I don’t log my strength workouts. Sure, I’m getting benefits from lifting weights, but if I don’t know what I’m doing from one week to the next, how will I know I’ve improved, or how will I stick to a consistent plan?

I think the best idea for me is to get a notebook and start logging my workouts that way. Any other suggestions for someone who uses the old-school calendar method of logging miles ran?

Also, I’d like to come up with some sort of plan for this blog. Right now, I just wanted to start blogging daily to get a feel of it, but I’m a fan of plans and structure, so here is a rough outline of what I’d like to do:

Monday: Weekend recap

Tuesday: Financial Fitness (new series starts tomorrow!)

Wednesday: WIAW — from my Tumblr days, this was always my favorite. I know a lot of other bloggers do this every day, but I have trouble remember to photograph my meals before I devour them (I’m hungry).

Thursday: Thirsty Thursday. This may just be another day recap, but I just like the sound of Thirsty Thursday.

Friday: Weekend fitness/food plans

This, like everything else in my life, is subject to change based on my ever-changing moods, so I’ll try to keep you updated.

One Response to “How do you log your exercise? Plus: Blog plans”

  1. Abby @ BackAtSquareZero July 17, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

    I do the same thing – just a plain calendar with my plans written in and then my actual.

Leave a Reply

