Regrouping after a weekend away

16 Jul

Happy Monday! I hope everyone had a fabulous weekend. As I mentioned in my last post, I went camping! It rained a little, but overall it was a great trip. I plan on recapping it tomorrow because today I have a lot to talk about.

Sometimes when you go out of town for the weekend, it’s a bummer to come home and go straight back to work because (at least for me) the weekends are the time you catch up on everything around the house. Since Zach and I have another weekend trip coming right up, I was determined for that not to be the case this time. We hit the road from the campsite as early as we could so we could get home, get things done and relax a little too!

Once we got home and unpacked the car, I immediately took all of our wet, dirty items to be washed (we use Zach’s sister’s laundry, luckily she lives right next door and she is nice enough to let us) and then we had some lunch. I didn’t want to sit around for too long, but I did catch up on some blogs before heading out to do the grocery shopping.

Yum!

I read some blog posts while snacking on some (delicious) cherries, and a s’more I made in the microwave (due to the rain, I didn’t get a good S’more fix while camping, so I improvised)

I did my grocery shopping, and I also hit up Big Lots for new pillows (it turns out one of my tents leaks, so my pillows got soaked over the weekend. Wet pillows are just gross, and it was about time for new ones anyway, so off I went). Turns out, they were having a 20% off everything sale, so I got a good deal. Hooray!After unpacking the groceries and doing some cleaning, I headed out for a 3 mile run. Another thing that sometimes suffers when I hit the road for the weekend is my workouts. I really wanted to make sure I logged something before the week began. I had a nice run, I ran a steady 9:45 pace for the first 1.5 mile and then did some walk/jog/sprint intervals for the last 1.5 mile.

Before and after baking

Next, it was time for dinner. One of my favorite healthy homemade meals is pizza! I make my own whole wheat crust, so it’s definitely no-guilt, even though I tend to eat an entire half of the pizza. I had these fresh banana peppers I got at one of the local farmer’s markets, so I cut those up to put on the pizza.

Zach went traditional, pepperoni and banana peppers on his half. I made my favorite: I skipped the pepperoni, and added brussels sprouts and kale, tossed in olive oil and garlic salt on top. If you haven’t tried this, I highly suggest you do. The kale gets nice and crunchy, and tastes so yummy with the chewy crust and gooey cheese. I also sprinkle some crushed red pepper on top, of  course.

After pizza and some television (Breaking Bad season 5! Yay!), it was time for bed. It was so nice to sleep in my comfy, dry bed after camping in the damp conditions the previous night.

I woke up this morning and I had to face something that I’ve been avoiding for weeks: It is my gym’s annual maintenance week, which means the gym will be closed all week! No! I count on my Monday morning Cardio Fusion class to jump start my week for fitness. Since I didn’t have that to jump out of bed for this morning, I ended up not doing any workout. It’s not the end of the world, but I definitely would have made it to class this morning if that had been an option. I hate maintenance week! I know it keeps the gym nice, but it’s a real bummer for a gym rat like me. 🙂

I got some more cleaning done, however, so this morning wasn’t a total waste. And I had time to whip this together before work:

Definitely one of my favorite breakfasts!

Basically: A bunch of sauteed veggies, one egg, two egg whites and a little cheese piled on top of a whole-wheat wrap. So good. Do you ever put peas into your eggs? It’s one of my favorite veggies to add into my scramble in the mornings because a) I love peas and b) they are very high in protein relative to most veggies, 5 grams for 2/3 of a cup. Also in the mix: Kale and green peppers. It was delicious!

 

One final note, I was thinking about doing a blog post once a week about pumping up my Financial Fitness. When I decided to get my health into order a few years ago, I went  through some significant changes, and recently I’m doing a similar overhaul with my finances. Do you think that would be interesting for you?

Do you ever make your own pizza? 

What is your favorite source of breakfast protein? 

Does your gym have a shut-down week? 

How do you regroup after a weekend away?

Would you be interested in a weekly “Financial Fitness” column? 

One Response to “Regrouping after a weekend away”

  1. Sheena July 17, 2012 at 2:00 pm #

    Big fan of using whole wheat pitas or naan bread as a pizza crust. Just a suggestion if you don’t have time for homemade crust!

Leave a Reply

