Protein Pancake Recipe

17 Jul

It’s a hot one today. I biked to work, and I noticed my tires were low so I stopped at a gas station to fill them up. I was dripping sweat, even though it only took a couple minutes to fill my tires. I couldn’t wait to get to work and get into the AC to cool off.

Well, the AC is broken at work today. Sigh. It’s miserable in here!

But I am excited to share a protein pancake recipe that I made up this morning. If you’ve been reading Healthy Living blogs, I’m sure you’re aware of the Protein Pancake. Usually, I follow the Tone It Up recipe (using protein powder), but I’ve seen a few floating around that use cottage cheese so I wanted to try that. I couldn’t find any recipes that sounded good, so I made up my own. It was SO GOOD! It ended up being 256 calories, 42 grams of carbs (a little high for a protein pancake, but I’m not super concerned with carbs, especially if they are good carbs), 3 grams of fat and a whopping 16 grams of protein. I love a good protein punch in the morning, it really keeps me satisfied until lunch.

I brought it to work in a rectangular container, hence the weirdo shape.

Blueberry Buckwheat Protein Pancake
by: Kristy 

Ingredients:
1/4 c. Hodgson’s Mill Buckwheat Pancake Mix
1 T ground flax seed meal
1/2 banana, mashed with a fork
3 T egg whites
2 T low fat cottage cheese
1/4 c. fresh or frozen blueberries (or fruit of your choice) (optional)

First, combine the pancake mix and the ground flax meal in a bowl with a fork. In a separate bowl, mash your banana and add the egg whites. I like to mash the banana a little and then add the egg whites and mash some more. Add the cottage cheese to the egg/banana mixture. Now, add the wet and dry ingredients together. Stir well and then stir in the blueberries or fruit of your choice.

Put a small non-stick pan or griddle over medium heat  and spray with cooking spray. Add the batter to the pan and let cook about 5 minutes, or until browned. Carefully flip over the pancake (I had to use two spatulas) and allow to cook until the center is cooked through (you can use a fork to peek inside).

I drizzled just a tiny bit of Organic Grade B maple syrup on top of mine, but I think this would be good with peanut butter, jam or just some fresh fruit sliced on top. This makes one large pancake (it was also super thick). You could probably also make this with protein powder instead of the pancake mix for a lower-carb, higher-protein pancake.

Enjoy!

P.S.
I plan on doing a Financial Fitness post later today, so I hope you’ll check back. Have a great Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

