Starstruck

26 Jul

Though I have a love affair with running, my first true love is yoga. I hate that I don’t practice as often as I used to, because I miss it. I just don’t feel like there are enough hours in the day sometimes, and yoga is the first thing that suffers in my fitness regime somehow. But let me tell you how I fell in love with yoga.

It all started with Pilates, really. Even when I was overweight, I practiced Pilates fairly regularly. Then, I purchased this DVD:

The best!

….I’m not kidding when I say I wore this DVD out. Eventually, I had to buy a new copy, because it was skipping so much. Then, I bought a new copy 2 more times because every time a friend became interested in yoga, I gave them this DVD to try  (it’s actually really cheap on Amazon, so it’s not setting me back too much.) The DVD is “hosted” by Lori from the Real World, but the true star, in my opinion, is Kristin McGee, the instructor.

Uh, how adorable is she!? (photo from her Twitter @thebendigirl)

Her teaching style on the DVD is awesome, especially if you’re new to yoga. I really love the whole flow, because while it is great for beginners, even if you’re more advanced, you won’t be bored, and you will be challenged. She leads you through a vinyasa flow that gets your heart rate up quite a bit. At the end of the video, there is a little Q&A session where Lori (the host, I don’t even remember her from The Real World to be honest) asks Kristin some questions about how specific poses are done, and it’s actually quite helpful if you’re new to yoga. Once I felt I had mastered that flow, I moved on to the Power Yoga, which is a little more advanced than the first:

You MUST buy this DVD!

I’m not kidding when I say that every time I do this workout, I’m sore the next day. It’s intense and awesome. As you would expect, there are modifications, so anyone can do this DVD. That’s the thing I really love about yoga: An experienced yogi and a beginner can do the exact same class with just a little modification.

Secondary to the actual workout and Kristin’s awesome instruction, the music and settings for these DVD’s are really great. I actually really like the music a lot, and I think that’s important.

If you’re interested in purchasing either of these DVDs, Amazon has Mtv Yoga listed for $12, and Power Yoga listed for $7.49. Clicking the links will take you right to Amazon where you can purchase them. Alternatively, you can purchase both plus Mtv Pilates and Mtv Pilates Mix (both also led by Kristin McGee) for $34.99 (a steal!) by clicking here.

So why am I reviewing two DVD’s that are almost 10 years old? Well, obviously I think that they are great workouts that withstand the test of time, but the reason I even thought to bring this up here is because yesterday I got a little starstruck, when I was participating in a Twitter chat about yoga, and guess who tweeted at me:

OMG!

I was SO excited! I immediately told Zach (he politely congratulated me, but most likely thought I was crazy) and it just made me so happy!

I mean, I’ve been using these DVDs for years, and I like her so much that I even bought a few more DVDs just because she was the instructor. She really is that great. It would be a dream come true to go to a class that was being taught by her (it’s going on the bucket list as we speak….)

If you’re new to yoga or an experienced yogi, I really urge you to try these DVDs. I promise you will not be sorry! And follow me on Twitter (@kristy_joy), but don’t get mad when I participate in Twitter chats (which is very often).

Question for the day:
Who is one of your fitness idols? 

6 Responses to “Starstruck”

  1. Garrett Shane Bryant July 26, 2012 at 11:51 am #

    You really should set up an Amazon Associates account and link things like this to Amazon using a referral link.

  2. CLAUDIA July 26, 2012 at 5:18 pm #

    Great post! Your enthusiasm bursts out of your writing!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Oh, the games we play… « Kristy's Health Revolution - August 10, 2012

    […] more thing I want to talk about. Remember my post about my yoga hero, Kristin McGee? Well, I won an EQ Yoga Mat on her blog! Check out this awesome […]

  2. EQ Love Yoga Mat review! « Kristy's Health Revolution - August 22, 2012

    […] The EQ Love Yoga Mat isn’t available for sale yet, so I’m not sure how much it costs, but if you’re in the market for a quality yoga mat, I’d recommend it. A big thank you to EQ Love and Kristin McGee for the opportunity to try it out! You can read my stalkerish idolizing post about Kristin here. […]

  3. DVD Review: Fit in 5 « Kristy's Health Revolution - October 23, 2012

    […] Loss Cardio Sculpt by Violet Zaki); a Pilates workout (From Weight Loss Pilates with Kristen McGee [My favorite]) ; a yoga workout (from Yoga for Everybody by Hemalayaa); a dance workout (from ); and a cardio […]

Leave a Reply

