What’s your favorite Olympic sport?

27 Jul

I’m having a little trouble concentrating this morning, and it’s not because the local coffee shop was giving away free Red Bull smoothies and now I’m bouncing off the walls in a sugar and caffeine-induced frenzy.

It’s because today is the day:

I seriously can barely contain myself.

The real excitement starts tomorrow, when the events begin, but the Opening Ceremonies are tonight. Typically, I watch about an hour of the Opening Ceremony before I get bored, haha. Let’s talk about the different events I’m excited for:

Track & Field
Obviously, as a runner, I like to watch the running! The event I’m most excited about in this category is the Women’s Marathon (Sunday, August 5th). Shalane Flanagan and Kara Goucher have apparently trained together every step of the way. Although Shalane won the trials, I know Kara says she is feeling really strong, so it will be interesting to see how these two ladies do.

Does this photo bring tears to anyone else’s eyes? How inspiring.

Women’s Gymnastics
I’ll be sexist here and say that I’m much more interested in women’s gymnastics than the men’s version. Do you remember the 1996 Women’s Gymnastic team? I will never forget the scene of Kerri Strug being carried off the floor by her coach, after she nailed a perfect vault with a broken ankle. Ok, I know, performing while injured isn’t the best idea, but you have to admit that was inspiring. How about Dominique Dawes? Do you remember her floor routines? She would do a tumbling pass and then just bounce in the opposite direction. Crazy.

One of the best Olympic moments of all time.

I’m excited to watch this year’s women perform. I don’t know if they will live up to the glory the team had in 1996, but I sure hope they do!

Men’s and Women’s Swimming
I’ve saved the best for last. I adore the swimming events. I can guarantee that I will be glued to my television set, watching Michael Phleps, Ryan Lochte, Kara Lynn Joyce and then rest of the team do their thing, but the lady I really want to talk about is Dara Torres.

Wowza


Dara has been on the Summer Olympic team in 1984, 1988, 1992, 2000, 2008 and now in 2012. Yes, she will be making her 6th Olympic Appearance (her Olympic career has spanned 28 years), at the age of 44. Dara is a true inspiration. She has won a total of 12 Olympic medals, she is the first women in the history of the US Olympics whose Olympic career has spanned past the age of forty. In 2000 Olympics (age 40), she was the oldest member of the US Olympic team, but won 5 more medals than anyone else.

Uh, yeah. Inspiring. Dara has recently had reconstructive knee surgery, so I’m really rooting for her to perform well this year. I’ll definitely be keeping my eye on her.

I’ll leave you with this adorable video of the US Olympic Swimming Team doing their version of the infectious hit “Call Me Maybe”

Call Me Maybe, US Olympic Swim Team version

How adorable is that!? You can have your Kardashians or what have you, I’ve got hero worship for these amazing athletes.

Question of the Day:
What’s your favorite Olympic event? 

Leave a Reply

