The Healthiest Man Alive?

30 Jul

Well, the weather outside has finally decided to be lovely! This weekend was so nice, I had almost forgotten what it was like to be outside without being immediately drenched in sweat.

However, nothing can ever be perfect, so of course the AC is out at work. Apparently it broke this weekend, so our three-story library (with a large two story window where the sun blazes in) is roasting. I’m trying to keep a positive attitude, however. I can take the heat! Plus, I get to leave a little early today for a previously scheduled appointment, so I’m determined to not let the heat get me down. I had such an amazing, refreshing weekend, I can’t afford to be a sourpuss and ruin it.

This morning’s workout was incredible, as well. I hit my Cardio Sculpt class hard, choosing heavier weights than I typically use. Then, I skipped out a little early and did a fast mile on the treadmill. I’m participating in Kristen’s second round of “Feats of Strength”, which is: Do unmodified push ups, all the way to the floor, to exhaustion. Here’s the thing: I’ve always modified my push ups, so this is a true challenge for me. On the first day of the challenge, I did five. Today, I did eleven. Eleven!! My goal is 15 by Wednesday, so we’ll see how it goes.

Drop Dead Healthy by A.J. Jacobs

I finished this book this weekend, and I’ve been dying to talk to you about it! I hope if you’re committed to healthy-living you will pick this book up. I tried to read another book by A.J. Jacobs and I couldn’t get into it, but I had to give this one a chance. I truly loved it.

In his previous book, The Year of Living Biblically, A.J. Jacobs pledged to follow the Bible to a T. This time around, Jacobs pledged to make over each part of his body to become “The Healthiest Man Alive.” I have to admit, when I first picked up this book, I was worried about the tongue-in-cheek nature of it. From the cover to the photos at the beginning of each chapter, I was afraid that Jacobs was going to be making fun of the healthy-living movement. I was pleasantly surprised.

As I mentioned, the book is separated by body part, and he covers them all! Of course, the heart and the stomach are good ones — all about nutrition and exercise, but he even explores the ears (noise pollution), the hands (nobody ever does hand exercises!) and many other lesser-thought-of parts. Here are some things I really liked about the book:

  • He explores many different aspects of each subject. For example, in the nutrition section, he follows both a raw vegan diet and a Paleo-type diet. He tells you exactly how he feels and explores the research for both.
  • He seeks out the advice of experts every step of the way, and usually not just one. A lot of times, he will talk to two experts with differing opinions. For example, in the Immune System chapter, he talks to a doctor who is hyper-sensitive about germs and handwashing, and an expert who believes we need germs to boost our immune system. It was very interesting!
  • Throughout the book, he follows the health of his elderly grandfather, and I found that to be particularly compelling.
  • He actually learns something! I was afraid that at the end of the project he was going to abandon everything, but I love what he took away from the project. The ending was great.
  • The humor! I laughed out loud so many times. Especially the interactions between him and his wife — they seem to have such a funny relationship.
  • The appendices. In the end of the book, he gives tips on how to implement the improvements he tried in the book, and there are two lists: One for normal people and one for fanatics.

I highly suggest picking up this book! The information alone is worth it.

In other news, yesterday was the first meeting of my new book club, and I’m very excited about it. Hopefully I’ll be able to review more books here in the future.

Question of the day:
Have you read any good books lately? 

2 Responses to “The Healthiest Man Alive?”

  1. Abby @ BackAtSquareZero July 30, 2012 at 1:08 pm #

    I love him as an author, his wit gets to me:)
    Thanks for the suggestion

  2. Kristen July 31, 2012 at 1:35 pm #

    I love that you’re up to 11 already!!

Leave a Reply

