No Sleep ’til….

9 Aug

I did not sleep well last night, and that is the second time this week. I’ve had some serious issues with insomnia in the past year or so, but lately it has been very much under control. I hope this doesn’t mean my insomnia is returning.

As I mentioned yesterday, I’m in my first week of half-marathon training for the Herald-Dispatch Half Marathon on November 7. I’ve had to juggle  some workouts around already because of not getting any sleep on Sunday night. I had just gotten caught up and then I ended up not getting a workout in this morning because I didn’t sleep well last night. Sigh.

I still owe myself a 3 mile run and a strength session or yoga before the weekend arrives — no problem. I’ll either get something in this evening or (if I sleep — knock on wood) do that at the gym in the morning.

Speaking of evening workouts, I have been doing more and more evening workouts lately, and for someone who is usually very adamant about working out first thing in the morning, I’ve been enjoying it. When I got home from work yesterday, I was hungry and a little cranky so I just didn’t feel like running before dinner. I scraped together a quick dinner of tacos (no photos, because it wasn’t terribly exciting) and sat down to do some reading.

About an hour after I ate, I decided I actually did want to go for a run after all. It was so humid! I ran my favorite 3 mile course, from my front door to the end of the park and back. I stopped at the halfway point and debated calling Zach and asking him to pick me up. It turns out that my dinner wasn’t as digested as I had thought, so I was running in the heat with a brick in my stomach.

I was SO sweaty, I literally had sweat dripping down my face. That never happens to me, and I’m secretly really excited when it does. Gross, I know, but I basically think the more you’re sweating, the harder you’re working. Anyway, after sitting down for about 5-10 minutes, I felt like I could probably make it back and I slowly jogged the last half home. It seems like I’m having more bad runs than good lately, and I’m excited to get that one really great run in soon.

Abby at Back at Square Zero is hosting a really great challenge this week. The LadyLike Challenge was born when Abby read something in Fitness magazine about how competitive women are over looks, weight, clothes, etc. She challenges us to do three things this week:

  1. Compliment a stranger
  2. Compliment a friend
  3. Compliment yourself

I think this is such a terrific idea. It really bothers me how much girl-on-girl hating I see on a day-to-day basis. I’ve gotten to a place in my life where I have surrounded myself with a really great group of girlfriends who don’t feel the need to compare themselves to one another based on looks. It makes me so happy that I can hang out with this group of girls and know that they aren’t thinking about my clothes, or if I’ve gained a couple of pounds. It does wonders for your self-esteem. Anyway, enough about me….

I urge all my female readers to take this challenge, either formally by checking out Abby’s post and tweeting at her about it, or just thinking about the ways you can be nicer to the females around you. Think of how successful we could be if we weren’t constantly worried about competing to be the prettiest, or skinniest. 🙂

Question of the Day:
Are you a morning exerciser or an evening exerciser? 

One Response to “No Sleep ’til….”

  1. BackatSquare0 (@BackAtSquare0) August 9, 2012 at 5:32 pm #

    Thank you so much for sharing. It is really making me reflect. I try to be super positive and compliment people on a regular, but hopefully this will make me even more aware of it.

Leave a Reply

