Oh, the games we play…

10 Aug

What!? Two posts in one day? And on a Friday night, at that!

This is totally out of character for me, but I’m so excited to share my workout from this evening. I’ve still been having a lot of trouble sleeping, so I didn’t wake up and get a workout in this morning….again! After work, I forced myself to go to the gym, even though I really did not want to. I knew I had to get one 3-mile run and one strength session in so that I would be able to fit in all my training this week.

So, for some reason, I decided to run at the gym. I was lacking motivation, so I thought being able to watch some mindless thing on Netflix would help me get through the run. Once I got on the treadmill, I knew I would struggle the whole time, so I decided to make a little game out of it. I decided that for every 30 seconds longer than 30:00 minutes it took me to run the three miles, I would have to run a quarter of a mile longer. The reward for doing it in under 30 minutes? Being done early! 🙂

I knew I had to speed up, because it took me almost 11 minutes to run the first mile (I walked a bit at first to warm up), so I basically ended up doing somewhat of a fartlek — a lot sprints followed by jogging. I knew I didn’t want to run any further than three miles, so I really pushed it:

I did it! I was really proud of myself. After that, I went down to the weight room and did this doozie of a workout.

Source

Barbell Deadlifts (3 sets of 12/40 lbs)
Wide grip bent over row — barbell (3 sets of 12/40 lbs)
Barbell high pull (3 sets of 12/30 lbs)
Barbell Front squat (3 sets of 12/30 lbs)
Barbell Overhead press (3 sets of 12/30 lbs)
Barbell Back squat (3 sets of 12/40 lbs)

This is an awesome workout. It was very intense. I really liked that I just had the two barbells, because the weight room was super crowded. I could just find my little corner and do my thing. There were two girls in the weight room, I had to fight the urge to stare. They were both so fit, and you could tell they were hitting their workout hard. I was impressed.

One more thing I want to talk about. Remember my post about my yoga hero, Kristin McGee? Well, I won an EQ Yoga Mat on her blog! Check out this awesome mat:

 It doesn’t have any PVC or harsh plastics (I hate how terrible cheap yoga mats smell — they totally ruin my zen!), has a textured surface, and a cool purple anti-slip surface on the bottom. It also comes with a really nice shoulder carrying bag, made of organic cotton with silk lining. I’m so pumped to get this baby. I usually just use the available mats when I go to class, but I can’t wait to show this mat off.

Question of the Day:
Do you ever play games with yourself to keep yourself going through a tough workout? 

Leave a Reply

