How influential are you?

15 Aug

One of my main motivations for blogging about my health/fitness journey is influencing others to get excited about eating healthy and staying fit.

Which is why I was interested in joining Klout. If you haven’t heard of it, Klout measures your influence on the internet by measuring various interactions on different social networking sites, and allowing other users to give you Klout for various topics:

Does anyone use Google + anymore?

The best part is that Klout allows you to claim perks from time to time. Klout is sort of new, but I imagine it’s much like blogging: More and more brands are realizing that social networking is a powerful outlet for (cheap) advertising. I’m happy to advertise a product if it’s worth it, which is why I was very excited when I got to claim my first perk:

ALL three flavors of Planters’ new NUT-rition peanut butter! Now, we all know that natural peanut butter with just peanuts is the best and healthiest choice. These peanut butters do have a lot of ingredients, but you can pronounce all of them. As we all know, it’s good to use nut butters in moderation anyway.

As soon as I got these in the mail, I opened each one and took a small taste so that I could review them. But first, let’s talk about the nutrition factor:

  • Berry Nut: Calories: 180, 110 from fat; Total Fat: 13 g (2 g sat. fat, 10 g unsat. fat); Total Carbs: 12 g; Dietary Fiber: 2 g; Protein: 6 g and Sugars 6 g
  • Cinnamon Raisin Granola Nut: Calories: 180, 120 from fat; Total Fat: 14 g (2.5 g sat. fat, 11 g unsat. fat); Total Carbs: 11 g; Dietary Fiber: 2 g; Protein: 6 g and Sugars 5 g
  • Banana Granola Nut: Calories: 190, 120 from fat; Total Fat: 15 g (2.5 g sat. fat, 11.5 g unsat. fat); Total Carbs: 9 g; Dietary Fiber: 2 g; Protein: 7 g and Sugars 4 g

Now for the taste. These are pretty tasty treats. Before tasting them, I thought my favorite would be the Banana Granola Nut, but the Cinnamon Raisin Granola Nut is pretty amazing. All the nut butters have chunks of granola and dried fruit. Yes, they are pretty high in fat, but I’d love a scoop in some oatmeal or on a piece of toast. Yum! I highly recommend trying them out.

________________________________________________________

As I’ve said, I’ve been having trouble sleeping. Last week and this week have been rough. When I don’t sleep well, I don’t get enough exercise, I tend to binge more, I’m irritable, have trouble concentrating….

The list goes on. Since this is becoming a pattern, I’m formulating a plan. First of all, I checked this book out of the library today:

I’m excited about this because the back cover claims that with 18 ‘mini-moves’ that will align your body to help you fall asleep. I tried a few of the mini-moves last night, but I don’t know if I did them properly or in the right order because I haven’t really read too much of the book yet. I did sleep better last night, but still not as well as I’d like. I don’t know if I can credit the mini-moves with sleeping better, but we’ll see.

In other news, I started my second week of half marathon training with a bang:

A whole treadmill run without accidentally re-setting the treadmill! I swear, I do that almost every single time. Since I slept better last night, I was able to get up this morning and go to my Cardio Fusion class, which was hard! I used the 8 lb dumbbells pretty much the whole time, and my legs and arms are jelly now!

Question of the Day:
What is your favorite kind of nut butter? 

One Response to “How influential are you?”

  1. BackatSquare0 (@BackAtSquare0) August 15, 2012 at 10:31 pm #

    I just started with Klout. Always forget to post on my Google + you just reminded me. No perks yet, but I am hopeful:)

Leave a Reply

