From a negative to a positive.

21 Aug

Last week, I tweeted this:

As it turns out, that wasn’t actually true. This morning, I ran 4.5 miles, 3 miles of which were almost right at my half-marathon pace! Let’s backtrack a bit. I’ll warn you now that this run recap will get a little TMI, so if you’re not into that sort of thing you might want to stop reading now.

I woke up this morning and knew I had to go for a 3.5 mile run. Since I was running outside, I knew I had to drink my morning coffee and make sure I used the bathroom first. Because none of the bathrooms at the park are open in the early mornings (that irks me to no end, by the way), and inevitably I will be at the furthest point from my house and have to go.

It was kind of chilly this morning so I had to wear my long sleeves.


Long sleeves = perfect running weather, in my opinion. But I do feel like I’m racing time to get my summer vacation in before fall begins…But I digress. I headed out and was feeling very strong. I checked my pace a few times and noticed that I was just below my goal half marathon pace, and I felt great. Around mile 1.5, I started feeling that familiar grumbly tummy feeling, but I ignored it. When I got to my turn around point, however, I was wondering if I would make it back!

So, I’m at the turn around point and I realize that I have to use the bathroom, like, soon. I know it will take me roughly 15 minutes to run back, and I also know that there was a (really sketchy) port-a-potty near my favorite water fountain, which was .5 miles — in the other direction. I started to run back home but quickly realized I would not make it, so I walked (running was out of the question) to the port-a-potty. Which was the most disgusting port-a-potty I’ve ever been in. Ever. I know, I know. This is totally TMI, but running just gets things moving and sometimes this happens.

Like I said, I waited it out at home before I took off, so I was running late as it was, and now I had to run 2 miles instead of 1.5 to get home and get ready for work. I knew I had to run, and fast, so I did. I averaged well above half marathon pace in my last two miles! Not only that, but I felt really great and strong.

I can do it! I can run a sub-2 hour half!

Sometimes negatives turn into positives. As I mentioned yesterday, I ended up running about .81 miles longer that I was supposed to for my long run, and now today I ran 1.5 miles more than I should have (well, .5 of those were walking, but still). As of today, I’m above my training miles by 2.3 miles!

Just a note, next week I’ll be on vacation and I’m taking the week off of training. I’m sure I’ll still run, because running is one of my favorite things to do on vacation (how cool is it to go see the sights?), but I’m not going to hold myself to a training schedule, because vacation is for relaxation! I need to keep telling myself that because, in case you haven’t noticed, I have a hard time really letting go. In fact, I’m easing into vacation mentality already this week. Last night, Zach and I went out for a bit, and I was hungry so I ordered….chili cheese fries! That is very out of character for me. So much, in fact, that my friend Susie said, “Who are you!?” I’m just trying to let loose a bit. I have all fall and winter to be hard on myself 🙂

I promise that I’ll have a new Financial Fitness post for you after vacation. I’ll be blogging next week, but I’m just going to talk about vacation and what a great time I’m having 🙂

Question of the Day:
What’s your most embarrassing fitness related story? 

4 Responses to “From a negative to a positive.”

  1. loseitbig August 21, 2012 at 9:38 am #

    I do the same thing on vacation. I am an early riser and I usually run before anyone else wakes up. We went to a beach in Florida this year and talk about amazing sites. I get lost while I run.

    • kristyshealthrevolution August 21, 2012 at 9:45 am #

      I am also an early riser, although last year on vacation I saw the sun rise almost every day and missed out on some late night fun because I was in bed early. I told my boyfriend that I’m going to try to sleep in a little. I can still run in the mornings, I don’t have to get up before the sun!

  2. Courtney Bell August 21, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

    Ha ha! You talked about poop! Lol! Just teasing, but I had to since you and I are usually anti-poop conversations. Sometimes, though, sh#t just happens. Hey-oh! See what I did there??? 😉

    • kristyshealthrevolution August 21, 2012 at 12:50 pm #

      Yes, I am usually very opposed to poop conversations! But in all honesty, shit happens a LOT when you’re a runner.

Leave a Reply

