Some random news…

20 Sep

Good morning!

As you may or may not know, I work in the Public Library system. I’m not a librarian, I work in the Administrative side of the library business. The library where I work is a Service Center library for many smaller libraries in our state, which means we handle all their administration so they can just be a library.

Yesterday, we had the job of moving one of our smallest branch libraries to a new room. Previously, this library was located in one room of an old school building. This building was dilapidated and is now being torn down. While we would like to build a new library in that area, for now the library is borrowing a room in an (0perating) elementary school. My boss asked people to volunteer to take the day off of their regular jobs to go help move all the books across the street to the new location. Despite this library being very small, it was no easy task. Basically, we had to take the books off of the shelves, load them onto book trucks (a book truck looks like this):

 

…and then push the truck across the street (completely filled with heavy books) to be unloaded onto the new shelves. Since I work in Administration and don’t know much about shelving books, my job was to load the book trucks and push them across the street. Talk about a workout! After doing this for six hours (with an hour break for lunch), my arms, back and legs were like jelly and I was completely wiped out. I went ahead and counted that as my workout for the day.

This morning I needed some extra sleep, so my speed work will have to wait until after work. I’m happy to report, however, that I’ve had my first pumpkin-flavored thing of the season:

Breakfast this morning (even though you can’t really see the smoothie) was a whole-wheat bagel thin with some neufchatel and a pumpkin spice smoothie (a banana, some pumpkin puree, almond milk, protein powder and lots of pumpkin pie spice). Ohhh, pumpkin. I think football and pumpkin flavored things are our gifts for having to suffer through winter.

I forgot to mention that when I got home from work yesterday, I opened the screen door to see that the tomato fairy had come to my house:

 

My friends Shane and Susie have a ton of tomato plants. They are overrun with tomatoes right now, and they know where to get rid of produce they can’t use!

Zach and I also booked our wedding venue yesterday! More about that in a separate wedding post, though.

Finally, I’m happy to report that my weight has settled back to the normal 149 lbs after my vacation weight gain. I attribute it to eating healthy and exercising regularly, naturally!

Question of the Day:
What is the best thing that happened to you yesterday? 

 

Leave a Reply

