Wedding: Favor Idea!

21 Sep

I generally hate wedding favors. When I started planning this wedding (uhh, less than a month ago? haha), I decided I wanted something people would enjoy as a favor. My first idea was this:

Which, while not exactly original, is adorable. But the more I thought about our budget, the more I realized that if we want to have up to 150 people at our wedding (which I really do!  I realized that keeping it small wouldn’t make me as happy), this could get pretty pricey. While the handle-less mason jars are slightly less expensive, I realized buying the jars and even making the chalkboard labels was going to set us back at least $300, so I started looking around at other ideas.

Again, I’m pretty down on ‘traditional’ favor ideas. Nobody likes Jordan Almonds. Nobody. They are gross. Sorry, but they are.

So, today on Offbeat Bride (does anyone else freaking love that blog!?) there was this post, which taught you how to make these cookie favors, super easy and pretty inexpensive, but most importantly personal and something people might actually enjoy!

Photo Credit: Offbeat Bride

I immediately ran with the idea! I figured I could totally personalize these to my wedding colors/style. Here’s my inspiration board for it:

See below for cookie picture credit

I already snagged those CD covers in the middle from Amazon, for less than $10 for $200 (thrifty!). The cookie recipe and photo can be found here. I printed out a basic lemon cookie recipe, but I love the vegan recipe found on that blog. The most pricey part will be the stickers, which will cost about $50. If I can get the ingredients for the cookies for about $40, that would put me in for about $100 for favors.

But you know, I don’t want to get too caught up with making everything cheap. That’s why I like this idea. My bridesmaids and I can get together and make these beautiful favors, which are inexpensive, but also very personal and thoughtful. Because I want my wedding to be a labor of love. I want it to look nice, but I want it to feel absolutely amazing. 🙂

Question of the Day:
What did you have as wedding favors at your wedding? (If it was Jordan Almonds, I apologize!)

7 Responses to “Wedding: Favor Idea!”

  1. Cher @ Weddicted September 30, 2012 at 11:31 pm #

    Haha! Jordan almonds are definitely interesting. Too sweet for me. We had small jam jars (125ml) of homemade strawberry jam. I wrapped the top in burlap and twine and put a small tag with our initals and wedding date on it from a custom stamp maker I found on Etsy.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wedding Wednesday #1: 10 months to go « Kristy's Health Revolution - December 5, 2012

    […] Favors – homemade lemon cookies in gray CD sleeves (already purchased). Need stickers to seal sleeves.  […]

  2. Wedding Wednesday #2: 9 months to go « Kristy's Health Revolution - January 2, 2013

    […] Favors – homemade lemon cookies in gray CD sleeves (already purchased). Need stickers to seal sleeves.  […]

  3. Wedding Wednesday #3: 8 months to go « Kristy's Health Revolution - January 30, 2013

    […] Favors – homemade lemon cookies in gray CD sleeves (already purchased). Need stickers to seal sleeves.  […]

  4. Wedding Wednesday #4: 7 months to go | Kristy's Health Revolution - February 27, 2013

    […] Favors – homemade lemon cookies in gray CD sleeves (already purchased). Need stickers to seal sleeves. — Update: I may purchase the cookies rather than making them. Again, I don’t want to get overwhelmed with DIY projects. Also, I’m also thinking about custom-made buttons. We’ll see. […]

  5. Wedding Wednesday #5: 6 months to go | Kristy's Health Revolution - March 27, 2013

    […] Favors – homemade lemon cookies in gray CD sleeves (already purchased). I’ve been pricing buttons. Baking 150 homemade cookies is feeling overwhelming already.  […]

  6. Wedding Wednesday #6: 4 months to go | Kristy's Health Revolution - June 3, 2013

    […] Favors – homemade lemon cookies in gray CD sleeves (already purchased). I’ve been pricing buttons. Baking 150 homemade cookies is feeling overwhelming already.  […]

Leave a Reply

