Recipe: Pumpkin Roll Pancakes

26 Sep

For book club on Sunday, I had to bring something. Since I also went to try on wedding dresses that day and I was running late, I just picked up something at the grocery store. I had to get a pumpkin roll:

Ohh, pumpkin roll. With your moist pumpkiny cake — and that frosting in the middle! I could probably eat my way out of a vat of that frosting. I definitely will be eating my fair share of pumpkin roll this winter. My mom’s recipe is the best (well, I think so, but I’m sure you think your mom’s recipe is the best too!), and she taught me how to make a while back. I really do think that pumpkin roll is the perfect dessert.

This morning, I wasn’t feeling my normal egg/bacon on a whole wheat bagel thin. What I really wanted for breakfast was pumpkin roll! But, as we know, pumpkin roll probably isn’t the healthiest way to start your day. Enter, the pumpkin roll pancake:

Oh my word, these were delicious! They were also filling, and healthy!

Pumpkin Roll Pancakes
by: Kristy
Makes about 12 2″ pancakes (4 servings)

Ingredients:

1 c. whole wheat flour
1/2 c. rolled oats
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice

1/2 c. pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie filling)
1 tsp. vanilla
1 egg
1 c. almond milk (plus a little more), mixed w/ 1 tsp. apple cider vinegar

Pour the almond milk and apple cider vinegar in a bowl. Set aside. In a separate (bigger) bowl, combine flour, oats, baking powder and pumpkin pie spice. Stir with a fork until combined. Add the pumpkin, vanilla and egg to the bowl with the almond milk and whisk until combined. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir until combined (batter will be lumpy). At this point, I felt that the batter was a little too thick so I added a little more almond milk.

Heat a small pan on the medium heat. Spray with cooking spray (I used my misto) and let the pan heat up a little . Add two heaping spoonfuls of  the batter to the pan (until  you have about a 2″ pancake). Let cook about 2-3 minutes (until the pancake is golden brown on the bottom) and flip. Cook 2-3 minutes on the other side. (you can check the doneness of the pancake in the middle with a fork).  Move the pancake to a plate.

Take about 1/2 tablespoon of neufchatel cheese and spread it on top of the pancake. Sprinkle with a little cinnamon and stevia. Repeat two more times until you have a stack of three pancakes.

Nutrition Facts: 1 serving = 3 2″ pancakes. Calories: 195, Carbs, 34 grams, Fat 5 grams, Protein 8 grams, Fiber 6 grams 

Ok, it doesn’t taste exactly like a pumpkin roll, but it definitely cured my craving! Yum!

 

3 Responses to “Recipe: Pumpkin Roll Pancakes”

  1. vinicooksveg September 26, 2012 at 11:36 am #

    looks amazing and delicious! good one!

  2. Cher @ Weddicted September 30, 2012 at 11:29 pm #

    Sounds great!! I might have to try those out next time a pancake craving strikes – perfect for fall 🙂

  3. Ryan Gladstone October 5, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

    Wow, that looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

