I’ve Gone Pumpkin Crazy

3 Oct

Well, it finally happened. I’ve gone pumpkin crazy. I went grocery shopping yesterday, and despite forgetting some pretty essential items (oh, just bread, a new filter for the Brita pitcher and hot sauce!)  I did manage to get the essential pumpkin items:

Plus 12 cans of pumpkin puree. I’m obsessed.

Aldi has all the pumpkin things. The reason I forgot so many items is because I was literally mesmerized. Zach is lucky that I didn’t spend all of our money there! They had pumpkin spice milk, pumpkin bagels, pumpkin cream cheese, pumpkin spice pancakes….the list goes on. I could barely focus.

I had a great day yesterday! After posting my October Goals, I was motivated to get up super early and get a strength workout in. It was rainy, so I decided to do the workout from home. I did a full-body superset workout that I found in the Oxygen Fat Loss issue. Then, I did this Gangnam Style dance from Cassey at Blogilates twice. It was SO FUN, and definitely got me sweating and my heart rate up. I highly suggest you try it if you’re as obsessed with the song as I am.

Then, after work, I texted my friend Ashley (who just got a membership at the Y! Yay gym friends!) to see if she wanted to either run outside or on the treadmill with me. She chose the treadmill, so I did a 4-mile speed workout (8 400 repeats at 5k pace alternating with slow jog or walk 400s). It took me about 42 minutes. I went straight from the gym to the grocery store, so that’s probably why I ended up with a bunch of pumpkin flavored treats and no bread.

The sky was GORGEOUS yesterday!

After all of that, I didn’t get home until almost 8, so Zach and I had some frozen pizza (healthy, I know), a glass of Malbec and watched a movie called Bernie:

I definitely recommend this movie! It was based on a true story, and a LOT different than I expected from the trailer. It was quite good.

After a nice day of healthy eating and good fitness, I failed once again to make it to the gym this morning. 😦 I really don’t know what my problem is with getting up lately. I actually got out of bed, put on my gym clothes and then, just took them back off and went back to bed. I was just so tired. But then thing is, I didn’t actually go back to sleep. I read for a while and then got up to do some dishes and cleaning up. Maybe I just need to get up a little earlier, to allow myself to wake up before I head to the gym? I used to have my alarm set for 5:25 and then be out the door without fail by 6 AM. Or maybe it’s just that it’s dark in the mornings again and I’m not quite used it yet. I’ll try setting my alarm a little earlier tomorrow because I absolutely have to go to the gym in the morning tomorrow. Today, I can go for a run after work, but tomorrow after work, Zach and I have big plans!

Tomorrow, Macy’s is having an event where if you go and create your bridal registry, you can win one of hundreds of gift cards, ranging in value from $100 – $1,000! I figured, what better time to get started on our wedding registry? Zach seemed interested in the idea, so we registered for the event and we’ll head over tomorrow after work. I also have a coupon for Ruby Tuesday (I am in love with their salad bar), so we’re making a date night of it. I think I’ll like registering. It’s like shopping without actually spending money — perfect for me.

One more thing I wanted to mention before this  post gets ridulously long is a little bit about that pumpkin cider up there. I had some with lunch today, and while I was drinking it, I checked out the nutrition facts:

First of all, love the flip-top bottle. I’ve had this twice (had about half the bottle at this point) and it stays nice and fizzy in that bottle. Secondly, I was quite impressed with the nutrition facts. The one thing I’ve noticed about the products at Aldi, they typically have a lot less ingredients than similar things at Kroger, and I can actually pronounce all the ingredients. I always thought of Aldi as a discount store, and while it is, it probably has a lot more in common with Trader Joe’s. Also, this bottle has 2-110 calorie servings, but I have found that a smaller serving is more my style with this. While it is delicious, it’s also pretty strong and I probably wouldn’t want to drink a whole lot of it at once. Approve!

So, send me good vibes that I get my workout in tomorrow morning!!

Question of the Day:
What’s your favorite pumpkin-related item? (You aren’t allowed to say you don’t like pumpkin, because I might die)

 

2 Responses to “I’ve Gone Pumpkin Crazy”

  1. Sarah W October 3, 2012 at 3:32 pm #

    My favorite pumpkin item is canned pumpkin. I add to pancake batter, throw in with cake mix, and love pumpkin soup (rachel ray’s currently).
    You’re going to feel so much better tomorrow shopping knowing you got your workout in. Postive thoughts for the gym!

  2. loseitbig October 3, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

    My wife just brought home some pumpkin spice Kisses. I think I will stick with my Pumpkin Wheat beer.

Leave a Reply

