TGIF!

5 Oct

…am I right? I’ve got a busy weekend ahead, but I’m looking forward to a few days off of work.

Yesterday, Zach and I went to Macy’s to start a registry. Macy’s was having an event where you could win gift cards, but we didn’t win any. We did start a registry, however, and boy is that overwhelming. I don’t want to register for out of this world, expensive stuff, so I tried to stick to the basics and I put a wide range of price points on there. We will still do a few other registries, because I don’t want people to feel obligated to buy us some extravagant gift. If I’m being honest, though, I do think that it is nice to get some things for our home that we might not be able to stock up on otherwise. So, I need to get over that icky feeling of I’m ‘asking people for gifts’ and just make sure our wedding is a gracious, beautiful event where everyone has a great time.

Ready to scan at my beck and call! My knight in shining armor!

We decided to make a date night of it (and I had a coupon), so after registering, we went to Ruby Tuesday to have dinner. I know I’ve said this a few times, but I love their salad bar.

I wish that was more in focus, but I was starving and ready to dig in. It was so good. I’ll be honest and say I went up for a second, smaller salad after that. I ordered the petite sirloin with coconut shrimp (fried, but love coconut shrimp!), and since I was so enamored with the salad bar (and I wanted one of their pumpkin spice cupcakes), I didn’t eat much of my main meal:

The aftermath….

I got their mashed cauliflower as my side, and it was really good! Luckily, I have all of that at home which I will be warming up for lunch. Yum! They were advertising their pumpkin spice desserts, so I had to get a cupcake:

I swear, these photos looked in focus when I took them…

It was pretty good, but not as good as I expected. After that we went to have a couple drinks and then it was home to bed, because I wanted to get up to go to the gym this morning.

I’ve been having some back/hip/leg pain lately. After reading about Abby’s sciatic nerve issues  (I read her blog over at Back At Square Zero), I’ve self-diagnosed myself. I really do think that is the issue, and it’s not severe enough at this point to see a doctor (plus, even when you have health insurance, doctors aren’t cheap), so I’m focusing on taking it easy and reintroducing stretching into my life.

I’ll be honest, I’m terrible at stretching. I rarely stretch after runs (I KNOW!) and up until now, it hasn’t really caused me any problems. Mainly because I was regularly doing yoga. Lately, I’ve been trying to fit all my training miles in and hit the weights so yoga has seriously suffered, and I can feel the pain. So this morning instead of going to my beloved HIIT class, I went to yoga and boy am I glad I did!

Penny was glad to see me when I got home from yoga.

I wish I had taken my phone to the gym, because the room we did yoga in this morning was hilarious. My gym is the YMCA, which is a converted church. There is exactly one aerobics room, so when there are two classes at the same time, one class has to meet elsewhere. Since the HIIT class is in the aerobics room, yoga was meeting in one of the raquetball courts, but recently they moved it to what is called the “Board Room” — I had no idea where that was and I panicked a little this morning until I asked and someone pointed it out to me. But yeah, the Board Room has the painted portraits of every President that the YMCA has had since its inception. So, basically the entire room is plastered with painted portraits of men staring at you. It’s funny/creepy. When we were doing our balance poses, I just looked one of the guys in the eyes, and I was steady as a rock. Ha! I will definitely take a sly photo for you next week.

Anyway, yoga felt great this morning. I told Elizabeth (the yoga instructor at the Y) about my sciatic concerns and she said she has had similar issues and has cured it with regular yoga, so I really need to focus on going to her classes and doing some extra at home. In fact, tomorrow I have plans to do TWO classes with my friend Ashley in the morning and I think I’m going to hit up Elizabeth’s 8 AM class before that. So, three hours at the gym? I can handle it!

Question of the Day:
Have you ever had a repetitive stress injury? How did you correct it? 

 

 

One Response to “TGIF!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Saturdays are for Rest, Right? « Kristy's Health Revolution - October 6, 2012

    […] HomeAbout MeFinancial FitnessRecipesWeddingWorkouts Kristy's Health Revolution Balancing Fitness, Food and Fun in America's Unhealthiest City « TGIF! […]

Leave a Reply

