Wild Wednesday

17 Oct

I can’t believe I haven’t posted since Friday! I’m a huge slacker!

Wild Wednesday: Where I dump all the little details I’ve not posted in the past few weeks.

Well, I went to the chiropractor, and I’m pleased to report that everything in my back, leg, buttocks and foot is feeling a little better. My doctor wants me to come back on Wednesday AND Friday, she says I’m extra tight and need a lot of massages. Who am I to argue? There was definitely a little pain during the appointment, but it was all that good, getting the knots out pain.

I’m also pleased to report that I’ve already done yoga twice already this week, and I have plans for at least two more classes!

I’ve been feeling a little ‘off’ since Friday. I went home from work early due to just not feeling well and a massive headache. I ended up in bed for most of the day with a pillow over my head, and wasn’t feeling up to much of anything until Sunday. I did get my long run in though! 8ish miles. The half-marathon is in 3.5 weeks, so I really need to get the long runs in every week until the week before. I will only get up to 10, though. SIGH.

Are you a competitive runner? If you’re outside and there are other runners around, do you try to pass them? I don’t, and I’m fine with it if others want to, but on the last couple of miles of my long run on Sunday, this girl decided she wanted to pass me:

Which is fine, but every time she passed me, she seemed to slow down. I’m pretty sure I was keeping the same pace, because she would pass me and then I would almost be right on her heels again. So, I passed her back. After two more times of this cat and mouse game, I stopped (that’s when I took this photo) and let her go ahead of me. She obviously wanted to be faster and after almost 8 miles I wasn’t in the mood to challenge her. Has this ever happened to you?

Penny always claims my running shoes after I get home from a run.

When the cooler weather hits, the sun spot becomes the most coveted napping place in my house:

Shortly after this picture was taken, another cat came along, beat her up and took over the sun spot. It’s big enough for three, but they all fight over it. Also, my future sister-in-law (and neighbor)’s Doberman is sporting a sweatshirt:

..and I’m wearing my favorite tights/socks/boots combo:

I got out my one and only Halloween decoration (I have more, but I’ve been too busy this year), and Zach got a new pair of shoes so we had this box in our living room for days until we had the heart to toss it:

And finally, although this is probably from 2 weeks ago, I had to share this yummy breakfast I made:

It’s a play on my typical weekend breakfast. I chopped up two sweet potatoes (usually I use regular in this dish) and cooked them in my cast iron skillet with some olive oil, onions and green peppers (along with salt, pepper, cumin and chili powder) until they were soft. Then I popped the skillet into the oven (about 375) and cracked two eggs on top  and let it cook until the eggs were cooked through. I served it (in case you can’t tell) with some avocado and a whole wheat tortilla. Ho.ly. Cow. was this delicious. Quick and easy too! I highly suggest you try it!

One last thing:

 

Cookie Crisp is on the “Eat This” side of Eat This, Not That Supermarket Edition. How exciting is that?

Question of the Day:
Does your competitive streak ever come out when you’re exercising? If so, when? 

Leave a Reply

