The Importance of Proper Fueling

22 Oct

Edit: The title of this post makes it seem more informative than it is. This is more about my struggles with eating healthfully on the weekends, especially when I let myself get overly hungry.

On Friday night, I made Zach (and myself) a delicious steak dinner:

Mmm.

With roasted broccoli ala Pinterest (broccoli drizzled with olive oil, roasted in a very hot oven and sprinkled with lemon juice and Parmesan cheese), and roasted red skinned potatoes. It was a yummy meal. I decided at that point that I would share my weekend eats with you today.

On Saturday morning, I had plans to go to Zumba and Weighted Workout classes with my friend Ashley, so I fueled up with a (whole) pumpkin spice bagel and some neufchatel cheese. After this meal, however, things got a little wonky with my eating and I fell off the documentation wagon. We went to our two (hour long) classes and I made the mistake of not bringing anything with calories with me. Ideally, when I’m working out for 2 hours, I should have some sort of snack halfway through, preferably a sports drink or an energy gel, but I didn’t, so by the time I was done with class, I was famished. By famished, I don’t mean just a little bit hungry, I mean, ouch, my stomach is really killing me hungry.

Zach and I had plans to go to Goodwill to look for Halloween costume elements (we’ve thought of a great costume, but you’ll have to wait to see photos), and he asked his sister to go along. It was about 11:30 AM at that point, and he told her we would go at noon. We had planned to grab pitas at a local restaurant, but at that point my hunger was completely out of control. I even kind of snapped at Zach, whining, “Why do we have to wait until nooooooonnn??” before eating another half of a bagel. At that point, Zach had relented to my whining (I get cranky when I’m hungry) and we ended up leaving early, so even though I had grabbed something to eat, I was still starving by the time we got to the pita shop. So I had a huge lunch on top of the half-bagel. Needless to say, my eating was pretty out of control for the rest of the day.

I don’t know about you, but when I let myself get overly hungry, my appetite is ruined for at least a whole day, sometimes two. Zach and I went to his friend Brian (and one of our groomsmen)’s house to watch football, and they had made lots of yummy football food. Of course, after the huge “lunch” I had eaten, I wasn’t hungry until we were almost ready to go and by then I was absolutely starving, so I had a bowl of cereal. Then we got there and I was still starving, so I loaded up on not-so-healthy football food (but oh man was it great). Of course there was lots of beer that night and late-night snacking, so all in all I’d say I failed on the healthy eating front. Boo.

Sunday was another big failure on the food AND fitness front. I didn’t get my long run in, and I ended up going to a bar for wings and beer and football. Ugh. Who am I?

I did make a delicious apple cheddar soup on Sunday evening to go along with a homemade pizza:

I promise it tasted better than it looks!

This soup was great. It’s got chopped up potatoes and apples, sharp cheddar cheese and apple cider — Here’s the recipe. Yum. I actually didn’t use apple cider, because it’s ridiculously expensive and I never drink it, so I couldn’t justify spending $8 on a gallon. Instead, I used put a cut up apple and one cup of apple juice in  my food processor and whirled it around until it had a cider consistency. This was a yummy soup. It’s got a nice, thick consistency and it’s nice and savory with a kick of apple. I love the thyme in the soup, it gives it that special something.

I’m pretty disappointed in my eating this weekend. I know I’ve gained a few pounds since summer, and if I don’t want to gain even more, I’m going to have to stop indulging on the weekends.

Question of the day:
Do you get cranky when you get overly hungry? Does it derail your eating schedule? 

One Response to “The Importance of Proper Fueling”

  1. Megan Greene October 22, 2012 at 10:29 am #

    I get the same way if I wait too long to eat. Cranky! It’s horrible and sometimes triggers a binge! Blah! I just started a new work schedule and it has my eating/workout schedule off. I get off work and I’m starving. . then it’s hard to be reasonable with portions, etc. I feel your pain!

Leave a Reply

