DVD Review: Fit in 5

23 Oct

I had quite a frustrating day yesterday. It seemed like everything that I wanted to do got usurped by something I had to do. Does that ever happen to you? It was frustrating, to say the least and let’s just say that there were tears and leave it at that.

However, a few good things did happen yesterday. I got some goodies in the mail! First of all, the shirt I won from Courtney, over at Sweet Tooth Sweet Life, showed up! (Thanks Courtney, I love it!)

That is a very awkward head angle to get the second picture!

I love it! I got a medium, which is just a tiny bit roomy, but that doesn’t really bother me. I love the hashtag on the back. I also received a workout DVD that I won from a Self Magazine giveaway.

I wasn’t sure what I was getting, but I read the back of the DVD and automatically like the concept. It’s 5 20-minute workouts, pulled from 5 different workout DVD’s. There is a Strength workout (From Weight Loss Cardio Sculpt by Violet Zaki); a Pilates workout (From Weight Loss Pilates with Kristen McGee [My favorite]) ; a yoga workout (from Yoga for Everybody by Hemalayaa); a dance workout (from ); and a cardio workout (from ).

When I woke up this morning and just wasn’t feeling the gym (I want to run today, but the treadmill sounded unappealing. The weather is supposed to be nice tonight, so I can do an outdoor run after work), I decided to try this one out for you.

I did three of the workouts: The strength, pilates and yoga. Luckily, the yoga portion counted for my 3x/a week goal — two birds, one stone.

Strength

I actually really liked this workout. It was strength portions followed by bursts of cardio, similar to a Jillian Michaels’ workout, but not as intense. It was more of a beginner level, although I was definitely dripping the sweat at the end. This is a good workout to do in combination with other workouts, when you don’t want to use everything up in 20 minutes. Although the cardio bursts weren’t as intense as I’m used to, as long as you use heavy enough weights, the strength portions were good.

Pilates

Oh, Kristin! You and your boat pose.

This one was a toughie. It starts out with a cardio portion that you repeat between sequences. There isn’t much to say about this other than you should try a Pilates workout with Kristin. She really works you, and I love the way she explains the poses.

Yoga

I loved this little yoga sequence. It wasn’t your typical sequence and it really stretched me out and made me feel energized. Do you know what lion’s breath in yoga is? Normally in yoga, you breath slowly, in through your mouth and out through your nose. However, lion’s breath (usually paired with cat pose) has you stick out your tongue on the exhale and push out the breath, kind of like a lion roar. At first, I felt a little silly doing it, but Hemalayaa says it is supposed to be a cleansing breath, to let go of any tension you’ve been holding, and while it may have been in my head, but I really started to feel it working. Plus, I loved the relaxing set, with the low lighting and candles.

I still haven’t tried the other two workouts, but I’d recommend this DVD. It’s good for the days when you know you need to workout, but you don’t want to leave your house.

Question of the day:
What do you look for in a good workout DVD? 

 

Leave a Reply

