Don’t Snack Before Dinner: Go For a Run!

24 Oct

Yesterday when I got home from work, I was pretty hungry. I had a whole organic chicken in my refrigerator that I was planning on roasting, and pairing with mashed red-skin potatoes, roasted veggies and gravy (I’m practicing in case I have to cook Thanksgiving dinner this year). As soon as I got home, I prepped everything and threw it in the oven. All the yummy smells made my tummy rumble even more, which made me think about snacking.

I wanted to save my appetite for dinner, so I thought to myself, “Hey — Running suppresses my appetite, and this chicken has to cook for about 50 minutes….”

So, I strapped up my laces and hit the road.

So glad I did.

I don’t know what the weather has been like where you live, but we have had a perfect fall. I’m glad, because it’s my favorite season and last year we didn’t get much of a fall at all.

I was going to do my usual 3 mile up and back, but I got bored about 1 mile in and made a right hand turn. I ended up running through town instead of the park, and it was a much needed change of scenery.

Oh, and dinner was incredible:

Roast chicken (don’t worry, I didn’t eat that skin), mashed potatoes and roasted butternut squash, carrots, broccoli and few Brussels sprouts.

I’m absolutely obsessed with Thyme lately. I’m putting it in everything.

Question of the Day:
What’d you have for dinner last night? 

3 Responses to “Don’t Snack Before Dinner: Go For a Run!”

  1. Meagan October 24, 2012 at 9:45 am #

    Yum… I had broccoli cheddar soup. And… I totally want to have your dinner tonight.

  2. BackatSquare0 (@BackAtSquare0) October 25, 2012 at 8:20 pm #

    It has been a fabulous fall so far here. Cannot wait to get out and run in it more. Last nights dinner was a whole collection of healthy snacks before and after night class.

  3. Christine @ Love, Life, Surf October 26, 2012 at 10:58 pm #

    That’s a beautiful pictures! It’s been a weird fall in NYC but we had a few really awesome crisp fall days which just made me want to run. That’s a great tip to go for a run instead of snacking.

Leave a Reply

