Monkey See, Monkey Do

25 Oct

In case you couldn’t guess, I love reading health and fitness blogs. I get a lot of my best ideas from fitness blogs, and this morning I managed to copycat several ideas from various blogs.

But first, let me tell you about my new outfit:

Cute, huh? Another things you may have guessed about me is that I’m frugal. As much as everyone in the world loves Lululemon, I would never drop $98 on a pair of pants. The outfit above, including the sports bra, cost less than a sports bra from Lulu. The entire outfit is from Old Navy. Have you ever tried their workout gear? My very favorite running capris are from Old Navy. I’ve had them for 3 years and they just now got a tiny hole in the knee, so I thought it was time for a new pair. I really like these, and my favorite part is that they aren’t black. I have a tendency to gravitate to black workout gear, and it tends to look a little goth.

This morning, I wanted to try this Tabata sprints workout from Clare at Fitting It All In:

Thanks Clare!

Holy cow! I tend to have a slower overall pace on the treadmill, mainly because I get bored of running and take it down to a walk more often than I should, but this morning I ended up covering 2.75 miles in the 24 minutes, and I was dripping with sweat by the end:

Jennifer Garner = awesome

(I’m a lot slower than Clare, obviously. I set the recovery pace at 6.0, and the Tabata sprints at 8.0) Alias made the time fly by. The treadmill said I burned _____ calories, and while I know I shouldn’t take that as fact, I do know that usually it takes 3+ miles to have the treadmill say that, so I know I got a good burn in.

After I got back from the gym, I remembered that I wanted to set a base plank time to participate in Tina, at Carrots ‘n Cake‘s 4-week Plank Challenge. One thing I know about myself is that I hate traditional “Abs” exercises, and typically half-ass them or just skip them altogether. Weak abs could be the root of my low-back/sciatica issues, so I know that I need to work on that. One strategy is to do more Pilates, and the other is to work on my core more often in general. We all know that planks are the best core-strengtheners, so this seems like the perfect challenge for me.

The plan for the 4-week challenge is this:

  • Monday: Time Trail (I know, it’s Thursday. I’m slow.)
  • Wednesday: Plank/Core workout (Tina is posting one each week)
  • Friday: Time Trial (try to beat Monday’s time!)

Basically, I’m starting a week behind Tina, but that’s ok. Today I set a base time for myself, an embarrassing 1:27. Tina’s goal for the 4-week challenge is to double her time, so I’m going to set the same goal. Goal: Hold a 3 minute plank by Monday, November 26th. Doable? Yep!

It took forever for me to get this photo, and I think I got an extra plank workout in because of all the photo taking:

Forgetting the self-timer, wrong angle, yelling at a cat….

After my run and plank, I did about 15 minutes of yoga. Not the longest ever, but I got my stretches in.

I drank this Protein Shot after my workout. As you may know, ingesting 10-20 grams of protein after a workout helps your muscles repair and recover, helping you build muscle faster. Since I don’t eat breakfast until I get to work (about an hour after my workout), I’ve been looking for ways to get a protein boost right after my workout. As far as this protein shot goes, it has 120 calories, and the only ingredients are protein isolates, pure cane sugar and filtered water. It tastes awful, but it did quell my hunger until breakfast.

Speaking of breakfast, I again took a page out of Tina’s book blog. I made her “Sweet Breakfast Scramble”— sorry for the lack of photo, but it wasn’t that interesting. I’ve made something similar to this called “Oatmeal without the Oats” I made mine using 2 whole eggs instead of one whole, 2 whites, because I didn’t have a carton of whites and I hate wasting half the egg, and I also used pumpkin and pumpkin pie spice instead of the squash and cinnamon, because everything I eat between now and December 1 has to taste like Pumpkin Pie. This was good and really filling. I only ate half of it before putting it away and saving half for later in the morning.

Question of the Day:
Where do you get your ideas for workouts/recipes? From blogs, books or do you make them all up yourself? 

Leave a Reply

