Chili-Cheese Omelet

30 Oct

I know that we are all health-freaks over here, but who’s with me when I say, Chili Cheese fries are good, right? I avoid them most all of the time, but I can’t deny their deliciousness factor. I mean, what’s not to love? Yummy golden fries, smothered with spicy, salty chili and a thick layer of cheddar cheese!?

Ok, there is a lot not to love. Like the fact that the potatoes are fried in oil, the chili is just fatty meat covered in sodium-laced sauce and the cheese is most likely as processed as it gets.

This morning, I had an idea. I have some leftover (healthy) chili in my fridge from this weekend, and I thought, “I bet that chili would be good with eggs.” — and my newest creation was ¬†born:

 

The chili was great: Carrots, butternut squash, sweet potatoes, peppers, onion, ground turkey and beans in a spicy chili sauce. Super healthy and delicious. Basically, I just beat up some eggs, poured them into the bottom of my non-stick skillet, then poured a little chili on top and sprinkled just the tiniest bit of cheddar cheese on top. Then I just cooked it up like a normal omelet, flipping it once. Yum!

I don’t know if this sounds weird to you, but let me assure you, it is DELICIOUS! You must try it next time you have leftover chili in your fridge. It was the perfect breakfast, paired with half a slice of the whole-wheat (vegan style) pumpkin bread I made this weekend and a cup of Costa Rican coffee, courtesy of my friend/neighbor, Ashley, who just spent a month in Costa Rica getting certified to teach yoga (you really must read about her experience, here.)

In other news, I am just sick about the damage to the Northern East Coast from Sandy, however, the hurricane’s effect on us was pretty desirable in my opinion:

It’s snowing! In October!

We didn’t get nearly as much snow as Western W.V. did (in the mountains, there is apparently over a foot and still falling!), but I must say I’m pretty pleased about it. Especially knowing that it is going to be 60 degrees and sunny this weekend, it’s kind of fun to have a taste of winter early. I hope everyone that reads this is safe and didn’t get too much damage. I know I’ll be spending most of my day reading the news to see what happened where.

Question of the Day:
Did you get any wacky weather from Sandy?

Leave a Reply

