On Rest and Recovery Before a Big Race

2 Nov

Happy Friday!

I’m so excited about this weekend. The weather is supposed to be nice, I have a girl’s night planned (Dance Central 3 on Kinect will be involved — YES!), and Zach and I will be celebrating our 2 year anniversary! Woo hoo!

I have been crazy tired this week, and feeling just a little under the weather. After not getting a good night’s rest on Tuesday night, I was completely wiped out on Wednesday night. I ended up in bed at 8:30 pm! I woke up at 2:30 in the morning (that’s what I get), read for a little bit, and surprisingly enough fell back asleep until 8:00 AM, making me late for work! I guess I needed it! Then again last night, I was in bed by 9:30 PM. I was up and ready to go to the gym this morning, though, so I think I got the rest I needed.

At the gym, I took the morning yoga class, followed by a shortened version of Clare’s Tabata Sprints workout.

I took my sprint speed up a bit this time, and boy was I feeling it. I was dripping with sweat!

On my way home, I sneakily took a photo for Grow Soul Beautiful‘s Yoga A Day challenge (a day late!):

Uttanasana (Standing Forward Bend)

Boy, did yoga feel good this morning! I got really deep into some stretches that I felt like I needed, and when I hopped on the treadmill, I had zero sciatica pain! Woo hoo! I’m feeling really hopeful for a pain-free half marathon a week from Sunday (!!!).

This week has been good for workouts. I’ve done something every day. Since I slept in yesterday, and trick or treat was at 6:00 PM (don’t ask why my town doesn’t do trick or treat on Halloween, because I have no clue), I didn’t have much time to squeeze something in. I did 20 minutes of Pilates, though, and I’m feeling it in my core this morning! On the running front, I’ve done a lot of short distance speed work. I’m setting myself up for a low-to-no running week next week. I can’t promise I won’t go for a little jog if the weather is nice, but I’m planning to stick to lots of stretching and maybe a little pilates to rest/stretch up for the half marathon. I’m still a little nervous, but this morning, while I was sprinting on the treadmill, I realized that fitness-wise, I’m good. I know I can run 13 miles if I need to, and I will. I don’t know if I’ll do it in under 2 hours, but I know I have the capability to do so.

Because I know I have the fitness, and I know I have the capability, this week I’m going to focus on having the mental strength to run 13 miles. I’m also going to focus on getting enough rest, and fueling my body properly (I’ve been struggling with this lately). Wish me luck!

Question of the Day:
How do you prepare for a big race? 

One Response to “On Rest and Recovery Before a Big Race”

  1. clare @ fittingitallin November 2, 2012 at 11:57 am #

    SO glad you like the run! AND SO FLEXIBLE! nice job with the yoga!

Leave a Reply

