Some Random Thoughts

5 Nov

It was so easy to get dressed and ready for work this morning with a clean and organized closet. I had more time to focus on using my new curling wand:

I’m not terribly good at taking self-portraits.

Now that I have longer hair, I’m trying to avoid the dreaded ponytail-every-day syndrome, which is one of the main reasons I’ve kept my hair short for so long. My future sister-in-law has a curling wand (basically, a curling iron without a clip), and one evening she curled my hair for me. I immediately bought one. I have very fine hair, but it holds curl well, so that is one way to get some volume. I’ve been practicing a lot, and I think I’m getting really good giving myself the soft curls. It’s not as easy as it looks! I spent a lot of time in the bathroom, with a laptop perched on the sink, watching You Tube tutorials. If You Tube had existed when I was in high school, I would have been a lot more attractive.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

Did the end of Daylight Savings Time mess with anyone else? When I woke up on Sunday, I walked around our apartment looking at all the clocks, trying to figure out what time it was. It turned out my phone had gone back two hours rather than just one.

This morning, I woke up on my own, thinking that my alarm hadn’t gone off. I thought, “Wow, this is great! I’m up before my alarm! I’ll have some time to drink my coffee before I go to the gym!” — turns out I hadn’t turned on my alarm at all, so it was 6:30, and I had missed the class I wanted to go to. Since I’m not running this week (6 days until the Half Marathon!) , I decided to just have a relaxing morning instead. I’ll do some yoga this evening before bed.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

Yesterday was grocery day. I tried to get out of the door early in the morning to beat the Sunday crowd, and I was mostly successful. It started getting crowded just as I was wrapping up. There was a cart of fresh flowers on Manager’s Special when I first walked in, so I picked these up:

It was by far the best $2 I’ve spent for a long time. Those flowers made me happy all day long. I might have to start picking up fresh flowers for the table more often. After closet cleaning, I spent most of yesterday being lazy or cooking. I made some curried pumpkin potato soup, mostly off the cuff, which turned out really good. I’ll post photos and the recipe here later after I take a photo. I also made some homemade pizza and another pumpkin bread to enjoy this week. Yum! I wish I had taken pictures, but I was too busy doing this:

…watching my favorite Christmas movie while covered in cats. Bad Santa is one of the most hilarious movies of all time. If you’re easily offended, however, you might want to avoid it!

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

With 6 days to go until the half-marathon, I don’t foresee many fitness-related posts this week. Like I mentioned last week, I’ll be doing a lot of stretching and relaxing this week to keep my legs fresh for Sunday. I did walk to work this morning, and hopefully I get some more walking in this week as well.

After the half is over, I am planning to start Jamie Eason’s Live Fit Trainer:

The first four weeks of the program, you do no cardio, whatsoever! I can’t even imagine not doing any cardio at all, but I’m going to give it a try. I’ve never followed a truly structured program like this, and I definitely need to do something to jump start some fat loss. You can find the program details here.

Question of the Day:
Do you ever have fresh flowers in your house? Does it improve your outlook? 

One Response to “Some Random Thoughts”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Date Night, and An Exciting Announcement « Kristy's Health Revolution - November 8, 2012

    […] and pepper). Yes, we doubled up on the cauliflower! It was a very tasty dinner. I wish I had gotten my flowers in the photo — they have held up very well since Sunday. Although, I did catch Penny eating […]

Leave a Reply

