Proud to be an American

6 Nov

Nothing brings out the patriot in me like Election Day.

Image source: The Library of Congress.

There is just something about being part of the political process that makes me very proud to live in a country where I’m able to have my voice heard, even if it’s just a little bit.

Image source: University of Oregon Library

Especially being a woman, it’s important to me to have my voice heard.

It’s discouraging living in a state where my vote on a national level “doesn’t matter.” — Neither presidential candidate has been to West Virginia very much. Although the state is expected to go to Romney, with the Electoral College system, the 2 Electoral College votes that WV contributes don’t really matter. It’s sad, but I still go out and vote. Why?

Because, believe it or not, the Presidential race isn’t the only one going on today. In fact, it might be argued that the races for Congress at the state level are more important to how things will be done next year than the Presidential race. So yes, I cast my vote in the Presidential race, but I focused more on the votes I cast at the state and local level.

Today, I voted for a man who I worked with on Student Government in college. I voted for a third-party candidate for Governor. I put thought into my vote.

I hope you will too.

Question of the Day:
Did you vote today, or did you vote early?

I always like to vote on election day because I like the excitement of the whole day. 

Leave a Reply

