I Can Breathe!

7 Nov

Last night, I made two purchases, for a grand total of $14.32, which after one day of use have changed my life.

Let’s backtrack a bit. For the past few weeks, I have been feeling really awful, because my allergy/sinus trouble has been out of control. The other problem I’ve been having is that I’ve not been sleeping well — not because I’m having insomnia issues, but because every tiny sound wakes me up. I was getting up 3 or 4 times a night and the result was a very sleepy Kristy.

So last night after dinner and before watching the election results, I went to the store and bought these two items:

It’s a funny story, actually. I was sitting at the neighbor’s house, watching election results with a group of friends, when I decided to run home and use the Neti Pot really quickly. I couldn’t wait to try it. It was a very strange sensation, indeed, but immediately after using it, I felt amazing. My ears didn’t feel clogged, and I could breathe fully and deeply. I walked back over next door, and when I walked in the door, everyone cheered! They had called the election while I was gone! So if anyone ever asks me where I was when Barack Obama was re-elected, I can say I was irrigating my sinuses. Gross.

This morning, I woke up without a sinus headache for the first time in weeks. I’m definitely a convert.

On to the earplugs. I’ve tried plugging my ears before to give myself a silent sleep, but just with cotton balls, and it didn’t help. For some people, white noise helps, but I need complete and total silence. I do not live in a silent neighborhood, however. Also, we lock the cats out of the bedroom at night and one of them can’t accept that, so she stands outside and meows every once in a while. These earplugs are incredible. Once I put them in, I fell right to sleep. When I woke up 7 hours later (on my own), I sat up and looked around. Once I took them out, I heard Zach snoring, a truck outside and a cat meowing by the door. It worked!

Needless to say, I feel amazing today. My sinuses are clear and I’m very well rested.

Hooray!

Question of the Day:
Can you sleep through anything, or do you need complete silence to sleep? 

P.S.
I have some exciting news to share with you tomorrow, so stay tuned!

5 Responses to “I Can Breathe!”

  1. Celiac and Allergy Adventures November 7, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

    I also wake up at EVERY. SINGLE. SOUND. I wake up even if my boyfriend LOOKS at me while I’m sleeping 🙂 I’ve tried earplugs before my they kind of make me panic that I won’t wake up at my alarm, or won’t wake up in the case of an emergency!

    Also, love neti-pots as well, but don’t use it as often as I should!

    • kristyshealthrevolution November 7, 2012 at 12:33 pm #

      I’m afraid about not waking up to my alarm too. I’m going to try to look into phone apps that use vibration. We’ll see how that goes.

      • Celiac and Allergy Adventures November 7, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

        Ooh, my alarm on my phone actually does have the option to vibrate instead of ring. I’d probably have to sleep with it on top of me though. It would be nice to get a restful night’s sleep!

  2. Sandi Nichols Bundy November 7, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

    This story was so good…just soooo Kristy!!! Only you would miss the announcement of who would be president for this next 4 years given your geniune support of President O’Bama just so you flush your sinuses!! But, what I really love about the story is your genuine praise of this product and your ‘hey, my head feels terrific for the first time in foreverrrrr’……he’ll be around for the next 4 years……you’ve mellowed! ……..I couldn’t have picked anyone more perfect for my son……..

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I Just Want to Run!! « Kristy's Health Revolution - November 15, 2012

    […] more quick update! I’ve been sleeping amazingly well the past couple of weeks. My secret? Ear plugs! I was a bit afraid that I wouldn’t wake up to my alarm because I couldn’t hear it, but […]

Leave a Reply

