Wild Wednesday

14 Nov

If you visit my blog via a reader of some sort, please click to go to the main blog and tell me what you think of my new layout! 

I work at my local library, but I’m not a librarian. I work in the Administration Department, and one of my jobs is Wellness Coordinator.

Our health insurance provider requires that each work site has an on-site Wellness Coordinator, who is sort of the liaison between the benefits coordinator (the person who manages paying the premiums, which in my office is the Business Manager), and the insured, everyone else who is insured. My job is to provide wellness support to the staff. This is also the most exciting part of my job, as you can imagine, because I am so interested in health and fitness.

Once a year, I host an on-site health screening, where the insured employees can come in to get a complete blood panel, and get all of their vitals taken. After the results are tallied, the insured gets a red, yellow or green light — obviously green meaning you are in good health, yellow meaning you have some work to do and red meaning you have a lot of work to do. If you get a yellow or a red light, there are programs in place to help you improve your score for the next plan year.

Today was our health screening! I’m happy to say it went very well. My quota was 30 participants, and I got 33 participants! Hooray! Since the participants have to fast for 12 hours prior to the screening, I also had to provide a healthy breakfast — I laid out whole grain bagels with neufchatel cheese, fresh fruit and whole grain breakfast bars, as well as 100% juice, coffee and water.

_______________________________________________________________

In other news, I continued Jamie Eason’s Live Fit Trainer this morning, doing this workout:

It’s still weird to me just going to the gym, hitting the weight room for 30 minutes, and then leaving, but I can definitely feel it! I’m still sore from yesterday’s chest/triceps workout, and I anticipate my back/biceps being sore tomorrow. I’m definitely trying to challenge myself with the weight.

I wasn’t able to eat within an hour of waking up today because of the health screening, however.

_______________________________________________________

Last night, I got the DVD’s I won from Cait’s giveaway:

I can’t wait to try them out, but since I have pledged no cardio for four weeks, it might be a while. I promise to review them here once I try them though!

Question of the Day:
What’s your favorite part of your job? 

3 Responses to “Wild Wednesday”

  1. Danielle (@itsaharleyylife) November 14, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

    love your background. That is the print I want for my wedding! (:
    itsaharleyyylife.com

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I Just Want to Run!! « Kristy's Health Revolution - November 15, 2012

    […] this program, but I might be sneaking in a little something something during those three days. The dance DVD’s I won from Cait Plus Ate are calling to me, and to be honest, I really want to try running. Jamie is very clear that you […]

Leave a Reply

