Not Quite Ready….

17 Nov

I woke up this morning bright and early, and really wanting to go for a run. I had plans to go to a yoga class at 9, but since I was up and at ’em at 7 am, I thought I’d give it a try.

It was my first true cold-weather run of the season. It was 31 degrees out, so it was quite cold. I was glad I got to wear my hat with built-in headphones. It’s so much better than earbuds, I wish I could wear it all year. It was quite cold, but once I got going it wasn’t too bad (except my hands — I need gloves!)

I decided to do my favorite 3 mile out-and-back, and I felt great until right before I got to the turn around, when my right knee started hurting, in the same place it did last week. I stretched it out at the turn around point, but I couldn’t do too much running on the way back home. It was so much colder when I wasn’t running! I ended up running the last quarter mile or so just to warm up. I guess I’m not quite ready to be running, so I’m glad I didn’t sign up for the Turkey Trot! I’m pretty sure the knee pain is IT band related, so I’m looking up stretches and going to limit my running to a couple miles a day.

It was a pretty morning, though!

After my run, I stretched a bit (but not much because I was heading straight to yoga):

Streeeetch!

Yoga was great! My neighbor Ashley has been teaching a weekly yoga class because she just recently got certified. She’s an amazing teacher, I always feel like I got a good workout after her class.

After yoga, I went ahead and knocked out the grocery shopping for Thanksgiving Dinner, which I’m cooking. Here’s my menu:

  • Roast Turkey
  • Mashed Potatoes
  • Stuffing
  • Green beans with creamy shallots and mushrooms
  • Roasted Brussels sprouts with pecans
  • Apple/Pear Galette
  • Apple Sangria

My sister-in-law is bringing the sweet potatoes and my father in law will bring the pumpkin pie. I’m most excited about the apple sangria, if I’m being honest!

Question of the Day:
Are you cooking Thanksgiving Dinner? If not, are you contributing a dish to the dinner you’re attending? 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

