Good Eats

19 Nov

There isn’t much I enjoy more than a good, relaxing weekend. Don’t get me wrong, I love to go out of town, run races, and other things that take up a weekend, but it’s a good weekend when I just don’t have much to do but hang out with Zach and laze around the house.

This weekend was one of those, and usually I end up eating very well because I’m not too busy to cook. So, I thought I’d share some of the highlights of this weekend, in the form of food!

After yoga and a run on Saturday, I went straight to the grocery store to get my Thanksgiving shopping done (and beat the crowds). Unfortunately, because I hadn’t eaten, that meant I was committing a mortal sin: Going to the grocery store on an empty stomach!

I ended up making only one impulse buy, in the form of a spice cake mix and cream cheese frosting! I’m not too upset about the purchase. I immediately whipped up a two-ingredient pumpkin cake. Basically, I just mixed the spice cake mix with a can of pumpkin puree. So good!

I wanted to make cupcakes, but I couldn’t find my cupcake pan?? I have no idea how you lose a whole cupcake pan, but leave it to me to do so.

On Saturday night, Zach and I decided to go out to dinner! I had a $50 gift card for Outback Steakhouse, so I got all gussied up and grabbed Zach’s sister and her boyfriend and off we went.

Since there is always is at least an hour wait at our local Outback, Courtney and I decided to start things off with a cocktail. This frozen bellini thing really hit the spot.

I had a tip that the Ahi Tuna appetizer at Outback is tops, and since I like to keep my Saturday night dinners light (it’s hard to have a good evening when you’re over-stuffed), I decided to just order that and a salad:

Oh my goodness was this amazing. Seriously, if you have an Outback nearby (who doesn’t?), you must try this. Also, the large size of the appetizer plus a salad was more than enough food for me.

Of course, I don’t really keep it light on the cocktails on Saturday:

This sangria sampler was pretty good, but they were a little on the sweet side. I know, not surprising for sangria, but they were a little too sweet in my opinion.

After dinner, we went to a birthday party for a friend I haven’t seen for a while, and he brought his Corgi, Leia:

This is a food post, I know, but I couldn’t NOT post a picture of that face!

I slept until 11 am Sunday morning. It was amazing! I quickly decided that I would take a rest day. After running some errands, I stopped at Starbucks for a holiday-themed latte and one of these:

Peppermint brownie pop! Totally worth the 200 calories 🙂

I had a bit of a tummy ache all day on Sunday (not due to the brownie pop — I think), so around 6:00 I still hadn’t thought about dinner. When I saw Zach moving toward the kitchen for a slice of pumpkin cake, I stopped him and whipped him up some dinner:

I’ve been craving some matzo ball soup for a while now, so I used Jenn’s (from Peas and Crayons) recipe, which you can find here. It turned out really great!

I wasn’t hungry (tummy trouble), but I couldn’t let my man go hungry! He requested a grilled cheese on the side, also. After his dinner was on the table, I decided I could eat a little something after all, so he shared his sandwich with me and I had a bit of soup. It was yummy!

After dinner and doing the dishes, I snuggled onto the couch for a night of Sons of Anarchy repeats (we’re on season one now), football and the new episode of Walking Dead. Lazy Sunday!

Question of the Day:
What’s your favorite kind of soup? 

Leave a Reply

