DVD Review: Dance off the Inches Latin Cardio Party

20 Nov

Monday morning I woke up and decided to try one of my new Cardio Dance DVD’s that I won on Cait’s blog.

Now, I’m still participating in Jamie Eason’s LiveFit Trainer, and Monday was supposed to be my third rest day in a row. As you know if you read this blog regularly, I only really took one of those rest days, because I went for a 3 mile run on Satuday, followed by yoga, and then Monday morning I did this video. I know Jamie says no cardio for the first 4 weeks, but I really can’t remain completely inactive for three days in a row. Perhaps I should be embracing the rest, because I know after Phase 1 of the program, things will get a little more intense. However, I’m an active person and if I don’t do something I get antsy! So, I’m not doing intense treadmill sprints, but I will be doing some light cardio  here and there. Sorry Jamie!

On to the review:

Now, I’ve been known to go to a Zumba class here and there, but I’m in no way a dancer. If you have any formal dance training, or you just pick up on dance moves easily by watching someone do them (I do not), you can skip the Step Guide because when you get to the main workout, she still breaks down the moves for you.  However, if you are like me and you need someone to really slow down the moves to get it, the Step Guide is really helpful, and it serves as somewhat of a warm up.

This DVD is fun. I like to dance, and if you’re one of those people who needs a workout to be fun, this DVD would be great for you. Even the Step Guide is fun! Some of the more complicated moves, such as the Samba and Cumbia, are broken down so well in the step guide that I think I’ll benefit the next time I go to Zumba.

The main workout of the DVD has 3 dance sections, which each last about 20 minutes. Because the Step Guide takes about 15-20 minutes to complete, I only had time for one of the dance sections. I still felt like I got a good workout! After the first dance, my heart rate was up and I was grinning from ear-to-ear! Like I said, she still breaks down each move for you, but having done the step guide was helpful. Like most other dance DVD’s, she starts with the first move, then adds a move on until you’re doing the whole dance.

One thing I really liked about this workout, was that she kept reminding you to make it exercise. For example, she reminds you to add resistance to the arm moves rather than just flailing your arms around to get an arm workout. She also reminds you quite a bit to tighten your core and really get your hips in on the action.

I can’t wait to try the other two dance sections on this DVD!

I would say that if you’re looking for a hardcore workout, you might want to skip this DVD, but if you’re looking for something quick and fun that will get your heart pumping, give it a try!

This DVD is available for $9.99 on Amazon, and if you go to my Amazon store, I’ve added it to the Fitness section.

Question of the Day:
What do you look for in a good workout DVD? 

 

One Response to “DVD Review: Dance off the Inches Latin Cardio Party”

  1. Caitlin November 20, 2012 at 11:54 am #

    I’m so glad that you liked the DVD! I got my copy too and I still need to try it. And I totally feel you on being unable to be active for 3 days. I have heard a lot about the LiveFit program and as soon as I saw that part in the beginning I was just like…not for me! I love to move!

Leave a Reply

