Back to the Grind!

26 Nov

I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday weekend! I know I did. I spent the weekend trying to figure out creative ways to re-fashion my Thanksgiving leftovers so we weren’t just eating a Turkey dinner every day. I ended up making BBQ turkey pizza, turkey quesadillas with cranberry compote, and leftover mashed-potato pancakes. Unfortunately, I still have a fridge full of leftovers (including a whole pan of stuffing — anyone have any creative ideas for that?) that I’ll need to get creative with!

Today is the first day of #Elf4Health! I’ve been in contact with my buddy already, and I’ve emailed her a meatless recipe — not that she needs it, she is a vegan! If you’re interested who I’ve been matched up with, her  blog can be found here.

I did manage to get in some good workouts this weekend:

  • I finished week 2 of Jamie Eason’s LiveFit Trainer. I took Thursday and Saturday off, but I finished up the week on Sunday — sort of. I pulled a lower back muscle on Saturday at Boot Camp class, so yesterday while I was doing front delt raises, I felt it a little too much and cut the workout short.
  • I hit up my favorite Boot Camp class on Saturday. I was pretty pumped about going, because I haven’t been for a few weeks. Unfortunately, about 40 minutes in, while doing squat thrusts, I managed to pull a muscle in my lower back and had to cut things short. I also hit up Ashley’s yoga class on Saturday morning.
  • I did a 3 mile walk/run. On Sunday, I was feeling a bit lethargic and bloated from all the food, so in addition to the final day of LiveFit Trainer, I decided to hit up the treadmill. Again, breaking the “no cardio” rule! I couldn’t help it though, I really needed to get a little sweat session in. The Steelers were on TV, so instead of walking outside, I parked myself on the treadmill in front of the TV. I walked/ran for the first half of the (terrible) game, and then hit the weight room.

Some photos from the weekend:

 

We have a ton of whipped cream leftover from Thanksgiving in the fridge, so I put some in my coffee on Sunday. I can’t believe I’ve never done this before, it’s so good! 

If there is one thing in life that Tuscany loves, it’s being held. I hope you can sense the sarcasm there.  We really don’t torture her on a regular basis, but sometimes she deserves it.

…Ok, I thought I took more photos than that!

Question of the Day:
How was your weekend!? 

 

6 Responses to “Back to the Grind!”

  1. Alex Katzen November 26, 2012 at 10:01 am #

    I really like your blog! There’s nothing like Thanksgiving leftovers for days on end! Stuffing seems to be best used as a side although I did come across a recipe where stuffing is used in a sandwich! It’s from the tv show Friends where Ross goes crazy about a Thanksgiving sandwich, haha! Here’s the not so healthy recipe – http://www.slashfood.com/2007/11/15/thanksgiving-late-night-turkey-sandwich-the-moistmaker/

    • kristyshealthrevolution November 26, 2012 at 10:04 am #

      Thanks Alex! I LOVE Friends, so thank you so much for the recipe for the ‘moistmaker’. I love that episode where Ross flips out, haha. That sandwich doesn’t seem like the healthiest, does it? But I bet it would be delicious.

  2. happyappalachy November 26, 2012 at 11:01 am #

    Mashed potato pancakes? Sounds yum! My favorite pancakes are sweet potato pancakes (I am a sweet potato freak). Didn’t you have a blog about some whole grain pancakes you made one day? Can you refresh my memory?

  3. Shannon November 26, 2012 at 11:08 pm #

    Thanks for the shout-out! Sounds like you had a great Thanksgiving. 🙂

Leave a Reply

