Veggie Burger Round-Up

3 Dec

I love a good veggie burger recipe.

It’s really easy to whip up a recipe of veggie burgers on your own, for a lot less than it costs to buy a package of the frozen pre-made burgers (although I do love those as well!)

This weekend, I finished off the last of this recipe:

veggie burger

I know the burger kind of blends in with the bread, but trust me, it was delicious. I topped it with a slice of cheese, mustard, a little ketchup and a few dill pickle slices. Burger heaven. I think that most veggie burgers are more flavorful than regular burgers, also. In honor of the #Elf4Health challenge for today (increasing fiber intake), keep in mind that a burger patty (with beef OR turkey) has 0 grams of fiber, so eating one of these on some whole grain bread or a whole grain roll will increase your fiber by the # listed next to the burger. Here are some of my favorite veggie burger recipes:

  • Mushroom Veggie Burger (8 grams fiber per patty)  I found this recipe on About.com, it says it was adapted from a recipe on WeHeartFood.com, but I couldn’t find the original recipe on that site. This is the one pictured above and it’s very good. This burger does have eggs, so it’s not vegan, but in the comments section of the recipe one person says that they have had success with egg substitute. This burger is delicious! It tastes almost like a fried stuffing patty. I love the flavor it gets from sauteing the mushrooms, onions and garlic first. I find that mushrooms really add a “meaty” texture to a veggie burger, if that is what you crave. 
  • Mediterranean Lentil Burger (5 grams fiber per patty) (vegan) This is a recipe from Sarah at Peas and Thank You. Most of the burgers on this list are hers, because she makes the best veggie burger recipes! I made this recipe a couple times the summer before last for a few different barbeques and they were a hit, even with the carnivores. The kalamata olives, basil and sundried tomatoes give this ‘burger’ a distinctly Mediterranean flavor that is to die for. You could eat these burgers plain on a bun and you would have plenty of flavor, but adding a little feta cheese (which would make the burger non-vegan, obviously) really makes the flavor pop!
  • Yukon Gold White Bean Basil Burgers (3 grams fiber per patty) (vegan) This recipe was my go-to veggie burger recipe for a while. The flavor is mild enough to not clash with any of your favorite burger toppings, yet still gives a good complexity to the burger. Mama Pea does it again 🙂
  • Black Bean Burger (Mama Pea style) (8 grams fiber per patty) (vegan) Another Mama Pea recipe that really packs a fiber punch! I love this mexican style burger, the addition of corn really makes it for me. This is a great burger that you can top with salsa and cheese. Yum!
  • Thai Veggie Burger (9 grams fiber per patty) (vegan) I swear, this is the last one on the list from Peas and Thank You! This burger can only be found in Sarah’s book, and it is AMAZING! If you love the Thai flavors, you can’t miss this one. I’ve added Sarah’s book to my Amazon store under the Healthy Living Tab.
  • Red-lentil Burgers (about 6 grams fiber per patty) I love this burger with red lentils, carrots, and marjoram. Yum! Here is the recipe. Again, the addition of mushrooms adds a ‘meaty’ texture.
  • Falafel Burger (9 grams fiber per patty) Recipe here. Can you tell I love the Mediterranean flavor? Falafel is great, but you can also make it a burger. It’s really good with some plain yogurt, onions, tomatoes and lettuce on top. Yum!

Hopefully you’ll try one (or all!) of these recipes for your next Meatless Monday!

Question of the Day:
Are you a vegetarian? If not, do you have designated “meatless” days, do you just eat meatless once in a while, or do you eat meat at every meal? 

4 Responses to “Veggie Burger Round-Up”

  1. happyappalachy December 3, 2012 at 11:25 am #

    These sound awesome! I can’t wait to try a few of them — I’ve been in such a food inspiration rut.

    • kristyshealthrevolution December 3, 2012 at 11:26 am #

      If you’d like to borrow my Peas and Thank You book, let me know. It’s a little embarrassing how beat up it is, but that just means I like it!

  2. Haley @ The Saucy Apple December 3, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

    Hey Kristy! I love that you did this post. I’m not a vegetarian, but for some reason I love veggie burgers just as much (if not more) than meat burgers. It just seems like the possibilities and combinations are endless. 🙂 AND I’m always looking for a new veggie burger recipe to try.

    • kristyshealthrevolution December 3, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

      I’m not a vegetarian, either, but I typically make veggie burgers on burger night for myself. Zach sticks with the regular beef patty, but I like to keep it a little healthier than that. Thanks for the comment, Haley! I so appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

