LiveFit Trainer: Week 4

6 Dec

I woke up this morning feeling a bit groggy, but after two rest days in a row, I was eager to get back to the gym. After a cup of coffee, half of an apple and some pistachios, I was ready to go!

week 4 day 22

I can’t help but be very proud of myself today. This is the first time I’ve really stuck with a weight training plan. I’m also on my final week of “no cardio” – I’m excited to start back up, but I haven’t necessarily been missing it. The one thing I do miss is being a sweaty mess after a workout. Although I do huff and puff, sweat and feel shaky muscles after these workouts, I’m not dripping with sweat and I kind of miss that.

The #Elf4Health challenge for today was to lift weights, and do an exercise you’ve never done before. Although I’ve done all of these exercises, I did do something new: I used the Smith Machine rather than just using a free barbell for my squats. I had a discussion with my friend Shane last week about how I used a 50 lb barbell for squats, and even though I knew I could use more weight than that, I was intimidated by the Smith Machine. He said that if he were me, he would be more afraid of using a heavy barbell that he had to lift over his head, and it was a good point, so I went for it. So much better! I was able to really feel the burn on my squats, and it turns out there was no reason to be intimidated.

I’m seeing some great improvements in my body from the LiveFit Trainer — I’ve noticed that my arms are looking more toned, and I definitely think I’ve lost an inch here or there. I haven’t measured myself yet (I was going to re-measure after week 4 is over), but I have lost about a pound and a half. I don’t really put my weight (pun not intended) on the number on the scale though, when you’re trying to build muscle mass and lose fat, the scale can be deceiving.

One really happy thing that happened today was when I walked into the weight room, several people said “Hi!” and greeted me by name. It’s clear you’re becoming a regular at the gym when people remember you. 🙂 Here’s the plan for the rest of the week:

Friday: Back/Biceps
Saturday: Chest/Triceps (and then I’m going to cheat and go to my Bootcamp class, because I love it and miss it)
Sunday: Legs (again!)
Monday: Shoulders/Abs
Tuesday: Rest Day
Wednesday: Rest Day
Thursday: Phase 2 Begins! Cardio + Back

I’ll try to post another update on Wednesday, after I’ve done my measurements. I can say that if you have thought about doing this program, you should give it a try! I know a lot of people shy away from it because of the “No cardio for 4 weeks” thing, but I think it’s a perfect training plan for right after a big race or something, when your body could use a break from all the cardio. I also think people are afraid of ‘losing’ their cardio conditioning, but I don’t think 4 weeks is going to make you slower or take your endurance down! In fact, I really feel like I could run fast and long right now 🙂

After the gym, I prepped my second breakfast, lunch and snacks for the day. I was in the mood for something different for breakfast today, so I decided to break out the old Oatmeal. I haven’t had oatmeal for breakfast in ages, because eggs have more staying power in my opinion. So, I added an egg white to my oatmeal:

oatmeal

This was delicious! I cooked the oats in a cup of almond milk and pumpkin pie spice. I stirred in the egg white and the apples and let it cook a while longer. Then I sprinkled it with some stevia. Yum! Hopefully I won’t get hungry again in an hour 🙂

This is a good opportunity to talk about the nutrition plan that goes along with LiveFit. I’m not following it. I feel like I could give you a better assessment of the plan if I were following the nutrition and supplement guide, but it’s unrealistic for me. First of all, I don’t eat like a fitness model, and I don’t really have any desire to do so. I like carbs, and I feel like you can eat healthy, and build muscle, with a carbohydrate rich diet. Secondly, I don’t have the money to spend on the endless supplements that serious weight trainers use. So, that part of the plan isn’t realistic, but I think it’s important to note that I am seeing the results I desire. I can feel the muscle that I’m building, my clothes are fitting better, and I feel great.

One last note, and I apologize that this post is getting lengthy. Last night, I got my new Oxygen magazine (hooray!) and there was an article about how weight training can help you stave off the common cold. I certainly hope that is true, because Zach has been sick with a bad cold all week and I have managed to stay away from it (so far!). Knock on wood!

Question of the Day:
Have you ever followed a weight training plan? 

3 Responses to “LiveFit Trainer: Week 4”

  1. torontorunner December 6, 2012 at 1:50 pm #

    Hey! way to go on a great workout!
    I think eventually I need to take a bit of a cardio break(but I love it!!) and focus on getting back into weight training.

    • kristyshealthrevolution December 6, 2012 at 1:52 pm #

      It’s hard, especially when you love running as much as I do. But, I have gone on 2 runs “for fun” because I really wanted to. I would definitely encourage you to do it if you feel like you could benefit from the weight training, because I have seen a lot of results.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hello, Friday! « Kristy's Health Revolution - December 7, 2012

    […] feel like jelly and you just know that you’ll be sore the next day? That happened to me yesterday on leg day. All day, anytime I moved around (yesterday was a crazy day at work, so I was moving around a […]

Leave a Reply

