Hello, Friday!

7 Dec

Today’s post is going to be a mish-mash of randomness!

You know that feeling you get after a tough weights workout, when the muscle(s) you’ve worked feel like jelly and you just know that you’ll be sore the next day? That happened to me yesterday on leg day. All day, anytime I moved around (yesterday was a crazy day at work, so I was moving around a lot), I felt that jelly feeling. Then, by the time I was cooking dinner last night the first of the muscle ache started to set in. By the time I sat down after dinner, I was in full-on sore muscle mode!

Because of the sore muscles, I was glad to wake up early (even after a bit of fitful night of sleep — sigh) to hit the 6:15 AM yoga class at the gym. I did my Day 23 workout of LiveFit after yoga:

day 23

Back and biceps! I felt pretty strong today, even using 15 lb dumbbells for the hammer curls. I’m definitely upping my weight, and I feel stronger every day. Since I was at the gym a little longer than usual, I had to rush home, shower and cook breakfast super quickly so I could get to work on time. My breakfast turned out great though:

breakfast

I basically just warmed up some roasted veggies (sweet potatoes, regular potatoes, broccoli and cauliflower) topped with a little cheese, put a slice of turkey bacon on top, and then made a dippy (aka overeasy) egg to go on top. Then I drizzled it with Sriracha, the condiment of the Gods. I paired it with a piece of whole wheat toast. Oh my yum. I wanted to make the egg overeasy so when I cut into it, the yolk would drip down onto the veggies. Good decision. I also ate one of the best pears ever. I used to be all about apples, but lately pears have my heart.

Speaking of breakfast, yesterday’s oats didn’t hold me over long. I was digging for a snack by 10 AM 😦 It’s such a bummer, because I really love oatmeal!

This weekend will be filled with fitness! I have two workouts planned for my LiveFit trainer, but I also plan to hit up my favorite Boot Camp class, which is held every other Saturday at  my gym, and Ashley’s yoga class, of course. I also plan on cheating on my no cardio rule to go for a very easy jog on Sunday if the weather is nice. Afternoon jogs when we’re having cool weather in December just can’t be avoided, I’m afraid!

Today, Haley at the Saucy Apple posted a great blog about how to make your weekend seem longer. This post really struck a chord with me, because I tend to get a little stressed on the weekends. There is so much to do, so little time to do it, and then Sunday comes around and I spend the whole day feeling bummed out that the weekend is over. But recently, I’ve been trying to really live in the moment on the weekends and, as my good friend Ashley said, “Not let my Monday ruin my Sunday”. It’s great advice, and every time I find myself getting the Sunday Blues, I remind myself of that little adage and it helps a lot.

I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

Question of the Day:
I need to make a vegetarian main course for my book club this weekend, any suggestions? 

 

3 Responses to “Hello, Friday!”

  1. Haley @ The Saucy Apple December 7, 2012 at 11:06 am #

    Thanks for the shout-out, Kristy! And I really like your friend’s advice, “Don’t let your Mondays ruin your Sundays.” I had never heard that before, but it seems like exactly what I need to hear on a Sunday night.

    Congrats on upping your weights, BTW! I have such a hard time strength training. Not because I don’t like it, but because I feel pretty clueless about it. I’ll even get a personal trainer sometimes to help me, but as soon as my sessions are done, it’s like I forget everything I learn. Maybe this will be one of my fitness goals in the new year. 🙂

    Have a great weekend!

    • kristyshealthrevolution December 7, 2012 at 11:07 am #

      One thing that has helped me a LOT is going to the weight room during a time where it isn’t too busy and asking the people who work there for help with any equipment I don’t know how to use. It turns out that they are really happy to help!

  2. torontorunner December 7, 2012 at 6:02 pm #

    6:15 yoga, way go to!!
    That quote from your friend says so much, how wonderful!
    Have a LOVELY wkend!

Leave a Reply

