Our First Christmas “Tree”

9 Dec

I’ve been having a great weekend! I got to see my good friend (and one of my bridesmaids), Allison on Friday night. As I mentioned in Friday’s post, I spent this weekend focusing on really enjoying it rather than worrying about getting things done. So Friday night instead of my usual goal to get into bed early so I could spend Saturday morning doing chores, I went with the flow and ended up having a very good night with friends.

Despite not stressing about getting things done, I actually was quite productive this weekend! First on the agenda for Saturday morning was hitting up a local store to stock up on some things to put together Christmas gifts and decorations. On a whim, I bought some lights and ornaments (despite not having a Christmas tree). We decided to wait until next year, when we will hopefully be out of our apartment and into our own home, to get a tree. So, I improvised:

72d8ef18417d11e28f4222000a1fb75e_7

…our very first Christmas “tree” as a couple! Woo hoo! It’s not perfect, by a long shot, but it’s cute. I saw a tree that had red lights on top, white in the middle, and green on the bottom, and I loved it. I was kind of going for that look. I wish I had a different color lights and more room. We’re enjoying it!

I made it to Ashley’s yoga class Saturday morning, but not the gym. I wasn’t feeling well (probably because I stayed up late and had a bit too much to drink on Friday night, but it was worth it) so I skipped it. No big deal! After putting up the “tree”, doing some Christmas shopping and laying around watching a movie, Zach and I were hungry for dinner, so I made one of our favorites:

2012-12-08 18.02.10

Don’t mind the pants hanging over the chair — I need to do some ironing!

Taco night! Roasted chickpeas for me, chicken for Zach. I also did something a little different with the rice, to give it more flavor. Instead of cooking it in water, I cooked the brown rice in chicken stock,  a can of diced tomatoes and added a dash of lime juice, chili powder, cumin and salt & pepper. It was very good!

Today has been a productive day too. I finished my Book Club book this morning (I procrastinated — Book Club meets this evening!), then I prepared my food contribution for our meeting: Homemade Mac & Cheese! I’m excited to try it, I used Alton Brown’s recipe. I’ll be sure to tell you how it is. After getting some laundry in, I did my LiveFit workout, but I didn’t want to go to the gym, so I did it at home.

It turned out to be a great idea, because during my break between sets, I straightened up my “workout room”. I use quotes because in addition to being the workout room, it’s also the cat room, our overflow closet and the cat’s room. It’s a tough room to keep clean, but I try.

2012-12-09 11.01.03

This is where I keep most of my equipment. If I don’t feel like going to the gym, I have pretty much everything I need to get a good workout. In addition to tons of DVD’s, I have 5 lb, 8 lb and 10 lb weights, an 8 lb medicine ball, a 10 lb kettlebell, an adjustable set of dumbbells that go up to 40 lbs each, a yoga mat and bands. Not pictured is my Swiss Ball and pull up bar. I also have an adjustable weight bench:

2012-12-09 11.01.28

It works!

During my between-sets cleaning spree, this trophy that I won at a local 5k fell off the shelf and hit me on the toe:

2012-12-09 11.01.03

It’s made of plastic, but it’s got jagged edges and one of those edges landed directly on my big toe. It hurt like hell, and now I have a red, swollen and bruised toe. Ouch!

All in all, it’s been an enjoyable and productive weekend! Isn’t it great when that happens?

Question of the Day:
Have you had a good weekend?

3 Responses to “Our First Christmas “Tree””

  1. kimfitpossible December 9, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

    Nice! Wow you have a lot of workout dvds! You should post pics of them all! I love to see what kind of workout videos people have. 🙂

    • kristyshealthrevolution December 9, 2012 at 12:03 pm #

      Before I got a gym membership, I worked out almost exclusively to DVD’s, so I’ve accumulated quite a lot. I’ll try to do more DVD reviews here!

  2. savorlifesflavors December 10, 2012 at 10:01 pm #

    Aw I love your tree. Too cute.

Leave a Reply

