Well, that’s Discouraging!

11 Dec

Guess what?

ran today!

…sort of.

treadmill

Of course, you can’t see that top display very well because of the glare, but I ran the first 5 minutes before having to stop and run to the restroom. Only once in my life have I been able to run on the treadmill for an entire workout without having to stop the treadmill and restart it. So, yes, I ran! Today marks the beginning of Phase 2 of the Jamie Eason LiveFit Trainer, and that means I’m allowed to do cardio again! Here’s my workout for today:

phase 2 day one

Ok, first of all, pull ups. They are my nemesis. I can’t do them unassisted, I just…hang there! Today, I decided to use the assisted pull up machine. The first round I did 49% of my bodyweight, and it was hard — I couldn’t even do 10 reps! I think next time they are on the agenda, I’ll set the Smith Machine about waist level and pull myself up from the ground. I really want to be able to do a single unassisted pull up. Maybe someday!

My gym has a hammer strength machine, but it’s only the push one, not the pull, so I just skipped that exercise. I could have found an alternate, but I was eager to get on the treadmill!

So, the treadmill. I guess I expected to have no problems with my run, after basically resting my knee for a solid month. No such luck. After about a mile, I felt that knee pain coming back. I didn’t want to push too much, so I just took a lot of walking breaks. It hurt the whole time I was running/walking, and while I was walking home, but as soon as I got my post-run stretch in, the pain was gone. I guess I’ll just have to stick with short runs until I’m healed. It’s just discouraging, I want to be running my regular mileage again! Especially since I got this in my inbox yesterday:

mezamashii

!!!

Yep, I’ve been invited to join the Mizuno Mezamashii Run Project! I’ll be telling you more about this in the near future, after I get my new shoes and try them out.

I used the Mizuno Precision Fit Online Tool to decide which shoes I wanted. If you’d like to try it out, Click Here.

precision fit

It’s kind of cool, there are all kinds of tests (like dipping your foot into a bowl of water and walking across newspaper!) that give you a good idea of your gait and how much you pronate (if at all). According to my results, the best fit for me was the Mizuno Alchemy 12:

alchemy 12

I promptly called Mizuno and had them send them right out! How exciting! I’ll have my new shoes in about a week. I’ll definitely be giving you my completely unbiased review here. Mizuno uses what they call a ‘Wave Plate’ as support for their shoes (for comparison, Brooks uses liquid and Asics uses gel), and this will be new to me. I’ve only ever run in Brooks, Nike and Adidas. A lot of running bloggers swear by their Mizunos, but I’ve also heard some people say that the Wave Plate is not for them. So time will tell how I feel about them.

Question of the Day:
What kind of running shoes do you have? Do you like them? 

 

2 Responses to “Well, that’s Discouraging!”

  1. Nadine B December 18, 2012 at 10:28 am #

    I might have to check out that brand. I started with Reeboks, and I have Asics now.

    • kristyshealthrevolution December 18, 2012 at 10:32 am #

      Even if you don’t go with Mizuno, you should do their Precision Fit run-through on the website. It was enlightening for me!

Leave a Reply

