I Heart Veggies

12 Dec

I haven’t talked about #Elf4Health on the blog in a few days, but I’ve definitely been following the challenges!

I have a great new elf, Kim (you can find her here), and she’s been pretty awesome about tweeting at me and keeping me on task. I may have mentioned that I’m feeling a bit under the weather lately, so it helps!

Today’s challenge was to eat 3 servings of veggies before 2:00 PM. Now, I am the queen of the veggie breakfast scramble, but with the addition of cardio into my daily LiveFit Training, I was running late this morning and totally forgot about the challenge.

almost called it a wash until some leftovers appeared in the kitchen at work from a party last night. There was a big green salad with carrots, cucumbers and tomatoes that looked really good, so I loaded some of that into my to-go container from breakfast and carried it home for lunch, where I loaded up on the veggies in my fridge:

veggie overload

A salad topped with a lentil veggie burger (the salad also had carrots, cucumbers and tomatoes), roasted brussels sprouts from last night, and raw broccoli with a side of cheese. Yum! So, I definitely had my 3 servings before 2:00 PM! Success!

The above image was created by me in Gimp. I’m trying to teach myself to use it, because I can’t afford to pay someone to redesign this blog when I need it. As you can see, I have quite a bit of work to do!

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________

In other news, the LiveFit trainer workouts are getting pretty intense. I’m turning into a pro of the weight room…with some help. The guy who works the early shift in the weight room has basically become my new BFF. He doesn’t shy away from showing me how to do the exercises I’m doing wrong, and this morning he was my spotter. I had to do 5 sets of bench press: The first set as a warm up, three regular sets of 8, and then one negative set of 3-5. Uhhh, I had no idea what a negative set was before today!

Negative Set: A negative set loads the weight beyond your maximum and only performs the exercise in the muscle lengthening (or eccentric) movement. 

FUN! That’s what a negative set is. I did my warm up set with just the bar (45 lbs), then loaded it with 10 more pounds for my regular set. For the negative set, we put another 10 on (65 lbs!!), and started at the top of the movement. The goal was to lower the weight as slooooowly as possible, and then he would raise the weight again for me. It was awesome! I felt like the strongest girl in the world!

Question of the Day:
Have you ever done negative training? 

4 Responses to “I Heart Veggies”

  1. kimmiepcft December 12, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

    Thanks for the shout out and way to go on the veggies! I am going to make up for it tonight and tomorrow, since I missed mine! Veggie challenges are always the hardest for me!

  2. Caitlin December 12, 2012 at 8:04 pm #

    GREAT job not calling the challenge a wash! there is ALWAYS something that can be done even if it’s not the whole shebang (which you did anyway!) all or nothing thinking is such a downer and you totally crushed it.
    i’ve never heard of negative sets! but i love weight lifting so i will have to try it. weight lifting already makes me feel like a beast 😀 so this will make me feel like…hulk??

  3. happyappalachy December 14, 2012 at 9:19 am #

    I love brussel sprouts like nobody’s business! I sometimes think I should just roast a huge thing of tomatoes and sprouts and other delicious veggies and just save them for the week’s lunches. It is so hard to run home, let the dog out, and still have time to make a healthy lunch that isn’t leftovers or a veggie burger.

    • kristyshealthrevolution December 14, 2012 at 9:20 am #

      I know a lot of people prep a bunch of roasted veggies, rice, and chicken on Sunday to add to lunches and such. I always think I should do that.

Leave a Reply

