Jamie Eason LiveFit Trainer Update

16 Dec

Last time we spoke, I mentioned that I have been having trouble running on the treadmill without IT band (knee) pain. Well, folks, that has all changed due to two things.

1. These babies came in the mail on Friday:
2012-12-14 16.40.20

The Mizuno Alchemy 12’s I got from the Mezamashii project! I’ll tell you what, these shoes feel great on my feet. I just had to take them out for a mile around the park before I hit the weight room on Friday.

2. I read that to lessen IT band pain, you should run downhill. Since I don’t live in a very hilly area, I decided to start leaving the treadmill at 0% incline when I run, which they say is like running slightly downhill:

runnnn

…again with the glare, but you get the picture. Two 30 minute runs, the second a little faster than the first, with NO knee pain! I really don’t know if it’s the shoes or the lack of incline, but I’m not going to change a thing. I have been taking it easy, though, I run for 5 minutes, then I walk for one. It works, so I’ll keep doing it for now.

As for the weight training portion of the plan, everything is going great. I’m still doing things I’ve never done in the weight room and I’m really starting to see definition in my arms. Today was shoulder day, and as I was doing Lateral Raises, I really saw that shoulder muscle definition. Yay!

I’m holding steady at a weight loss of 2 lbs, but I took my measurements yesterday and I’ve lost half an inch around my waist!

Question of the day:
What brand of running shoes do you wear? 

3 Responses to “Jamie Eason LiveFit Trainer Update”

  1. kimmiepcft December 17, 2012 at 7:13 am #

    OMG totally jealous of your awesome sneaks! I have been trying to get free Mizunos forever, lol. I plan to buy some after the Marathon if I have to! For now, I wear Brooks Adrenaline 12s, which I *love*, and am on my 3rd pair in about a year. I will be due for a new pair in a couple months , and will probably get another pair of Brooks to go with the Mizunos (Wave Riders)

  2. Haley @ The Saucy Apple December 17, 2012 at 9:41 am #

    I’m so glad you posted this! I was actually planning on getting new running shoes today over lunch. I’ve been training for my first half marathon, and I just recently started having knee and foot aches. I think the right shoes can totally make a difference, and then also, getting new shoes after every 300 miles (I think that’s the number) is important, too. I’ll have to check out these Mizunos!

    • kristyshealthrevolution December 17, 2012 at 9:57 am #

      Definitely try out their precision fit guide, even if you don’t end up getting Mizuno brand shoes, it will tell you if you overpronate and how severely so you can make the right decision. Trust me, running 13 miles in the wrong shoes is NOT something you want to do!

Leave a Reply

