A Virtual 5k?

18 Dec

I’ll be honest, I haven’t really been in the mood to blog the past few days. Somehow it still seems weird being positive and upbeat online. I’m being positive and upbeat in my real, non-virtual life, though, so I guess it’s time to get a move on.

I read on Julie’s blog that an elementary school teacher in Connecticut is organizing a  5k, 10k or half marathon  (with a virtual component for those out of the area) to honor the victims of the Sandy Hook shooting. I’m all for this, and I think I’m going to try to get a few of my local running friends to participate as well. If you’d like to participate, join this Facebook group to stay informed.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Let’s recap what I’ve been up to, shall we?

I mentioned in my last post that I was still going strong with the Jamie Eason plan, and that I’ve been running without pain.  Today was leg day, and it was rough. I woke up wishing that I had cardio on the agenda, but today wasn’t a cardio day and once I was done with my leg workout I was glad. Leg day wiped me out!

Two things that were on the agenda today were the Abductor and Adductor machine, but I really don’t think my gym has those machines anymore. I’ve read a lot about how those machines are basically useless, so I subbed some exercises for them:

For the abductor, I looped a resistance band around my calves and did traveling side squats. It looks something like this:

For the adductor, I simply did side lunges with the barbell:

I’m not sure if it was exactly what I should have been doing, but I felt the burn. Legs are a hard day, no?

As for #Elf4Health, I haven’t been keeping up with the challenges like I should. Today’s challenge is to treat myself to something I’ve been craving — shouldn’t be too hard to live up to that one, but now I have to figure out what it is I’m craving!

In other news, this past weekend was my Sister-in-Law to-be’s annual Christmas party, aka the best party of the year. The food and drinks were fabulous (didn’t take photos, I’m a terrible blogger). The gift exchange was fun (we do a Secret Santa each year). I got this book, which I’ve been dying to read:

I read Gretchen Rubin’s Happiness Project earlier this year, and I’ve been very excited for this to come out. If you haven’t read The Happiness Project, I highly recommend it. Even if you don’t do a strict, year-long Happiness Project like Gretchen did (I did not), there is a lot to take away from this book. Once I finish this installment, I’ll review it here.

Also at the party, Zach and I got our annual Christmas Tree photo made:

Photo courtesy of Courtney Bell Photography

Photo courtesy of Courtney Bell Photography

We are a happy couple. 🙂

I’ll leave you with this photo of my bridesmaids (plus honorary bridesmaid, Mandee, minus my Maid of Honor, my sister Michelle) from the party. Love these girls!

397012_4885957956494_1180549884_n (1)

Photo also courtesy of Courtney Bell Photography, but she does complain that this is out of focus. I’ll blame the fact that she’s in the photo for that.

7 Responses to “A Virtual 5k?”

  1. Courtney Bell December 18, 2012 at 10:08 am #

    Don’t be modest, Kristy! You forgot to mention that you’re Miss February, 2013 in a certain calendar that just became available for sale online….! *shameless plug*

    • kristyshealthrevolution December 18, 2012 at 10:09 am #

      It is one of my 11 random things for my Liebster post, which HOPEFULLY will be up tomorrow! Leave this shameless plug here, though!

  2. Haley @ The Saucy Apple December 18, 2012 at 10:35 am #

    Such a sweet photo of you and the love of your life! 🙂 Love it!

  3. happyappalachy December 18, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

    I love the pics from the party. I must say, though, I hated The Happiness Project. It seemed like exactly the type of book I would love, but I just hated her voice and the way she seemed to complain and simultaneously brag about everything even as she was trying to provide life tips for happiness. I don’t know — it rubbed me the wrong way.

    • kristyshealthrevolution December 18, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

      That’s funny that we have such different opinions about it! I think I can see your point of view, even though I felt differently. I think maybe at the time I read it, I was looking for something, and it was helpful. I really took away some points: Don’t look for gold stars, Be Kristy (Gretchen), act the way you want to feel and The one-minute rule are my favorites. They really have made a difference in my life!

  4. Molly December 18, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

    1. Leg day ANYTHING is horrendous haha
    2. Such a cute photo of you & Zach!
    3. I’ve been doing horribly keeping up with Elf4Health, too 😦

    (and I have no idea why I felt like I had to number all that out hahaha)

Leave a Reply

