Will I Ever Learn My Lesson?

2 Jan

This morning’s desk breakfast is oatmeal, which never, ever keeps me full until lunch, but apparently I will never learn my lesson:

desk breakfast

This time, I added 2 egg whites and a scoop of peanut butter to the oats to give them some staying power, and paired them with a pear on the side. The oats were really thick and creamy and delicious. I also drizzled some honey on them and cooked them in almond milk. Surely I’ll be starving by 10:00, but I was just craving a hot bowl of oats this morning!

I need to talk about my fitness plan. I’m feeling overwhelmed by my fitness desires lately. I want to do more running, and I also want to keep up with the Jamie Eason LiveFit Trainer (which I put on hiatus over the holidays), and as of today, I really want to get back to going to my group fitness classes, but it just doesn’t seem like there are enough hours in the day to meet all of my fitness wants.

This morning, I went back to the 6:15 Cardio Fusion class at my gym. I used to attend this class incredibly regularly, but I stopped going altogether after the half marathon and starting the LiveFit Trainer.

Whew, it was a rough one! Here’s what we did:

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Circuit 1: 30 seconds work/15 seconds rest; 2 times

– Sumo squat with dumbbell curl
– Push up, then move foot to elbow
– Renegade row (on each arm), with burpee
– Dumbbell curl with push out to squat
– Bent over dumbbell row to flye

Cardio blast: Run the length of the gym and back with Bosu over your head, then do 6 Bosu push ups. Repeat run, followed by 6 Bosu burpees, repeat run followed by 6 mountain climbers on Bosu — do 2 x

Hold wall sit, then raise each leg for 8 reps. Then hold wall sit again for 2 8 counts. 

Circuit 2: 30 seconds work/15 seconds rest; 2 times

– Half get ups (right) with dumbbell
– Side lunge (right) to curtsy lunge with curl (alternate lateral raise every other time)
– Half get ups (left) with dumbbell
– Side lunge (left) to curtsy lunge with curl (alternate lateral raise every other time)
– Chest flyes with double leg lower on floor

Repeat Cardio Blast

Do one set of all 10 exercises from both circuits, 30 seconds work, 15 seconds rest 

Cool down and STRETCH! ___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Whew!! My heart was pumping and I sure was glad to reach the stretch portion of this class! This workout made me realize how much I miss going to this class. It’s so nice to wake up, throw on my workout clothes and shoes, and just go to the gym. No need to make a plan, no need to make sure my phone is charged, no untangling my headphones.

However, I am loving the muscle building that is going on with LiveFit. As much as I love my class, it’s more of a fast-paced, low-weight, high rep class with emphasis on fat burning. I need to figure out a way to fit it all in with running as well. Which means that I won’t be following LiveFit strictly anymore. I think because the Cardio Fusion class meets 2x a week, I can probably fit in one of those days. Since I made two fitness resolutions (run 600 miles this year and make a specific strength training plan each week), I will have to sit down and figure out how to fit it all in. I will keep you updated!

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

In other food news, I wanted to share my dinner from last night:

good luck dinner

I had to fit our cabbage in yesterday, and what better way to do that than with sauerkraut!? I made smoked sausage sauteed with peppers, onions and kraut, the Pioneer Woman’s crash potatoes, and roasted broccoli. It was so delicious, and I feel luckier already!

Question of the Day:
Do you ever feel like you can’t fit in all the different kinds of workouts you want to do? 

 

 

2 Responses to “Will I Ever Learn My Lesson?”

  1. savorlifesflavors January 2, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

    I have never added egg whites to my oatmeal. Do you still cook the oatmeal the standard way or do you need to do something different?

    • kristyshealthrevolution January 3, 2013 at 5:38 am #

      Yep, I just add them in at the same time as the oats. You have to stir it a lot so you don’t end up with egg chunks in your oatmeal, and it makes the oatmeal have a creamier consistency

Leave a Reply

