Banish the Negative!

3 Jan

This morning, I made a huge mistake.

I stepped onto the scale.

Now, I’m not one of those people who hates the scale. I like my scale. I step onto it regularly, and if the number is higher than normal, I don’t (usually) let it get me down, I let it motivate me to find the areas I can improve in health and fitness.

However, stepping onto the scale the first week in January should be outlawed.

I saw a number that was much higher than usual, and I immediately went into mega panic mode. I was giving myself a hard time for pretty much everything under the sun: My weight, putting off tasks that I should have done a while ago, etc.

I even went for a run at the gym this morning:

2013-01-03 07.10.03

…and instead of thinking, “Oh, wow! That’s the furthest I’ve run since my half marathon!” I immediately went into, “Ugh, I am SO SLOW now.”

Negative self-talk is the worst. It is good for absolutely nothing, so I’m banishing it. I’m sick of talking down to myself, because I really like myself! I’d be mad if anyone was talking this way about one of my friends, so I’m not going to let myself talk about…myself…this way!

_____________________________________________________________

Speaking of the gym (and negative thoughts), I really wanted to get a short treadmill run in after work yesterday too, but I forgot it was January 2nd at 6:00 PM. Every single treadmill was taken, so I immediately walked right out.

Don’t get me wrong, I love that everyone is hitting the gym right now, but I was  in a pretty foul mood after that. I really was pumped up to get a good run in, and my plans were foiled. I won’t even tell you the thoughts that ran through my head as I was angrily stomping home from the gym — it wasn’t nice, and I regret letting it get to me so much.

So, I went home and did about 20 minutes of yoga with Rodney Yee instead.

Yes, I do yoga with the litter boxes. Yes, it's gross. I need a house.

Yes, I do yoga with the litter boxes. Yes, it’s gross. I need a house.

After some yoga, taco night, a good movie (watch Sleepwalk with Me! It was so good!) and some quality time with my sweet fiance, I felt better (and pretty ashamed for being such a Negative Nancy).

Question of the Day:
What do you do when negative thinking gets you down? 

4 Responses to “Banish the Negative!”

  1. Haley @ The Saucy Apple January 3, 2013 at 9:50 am #

    Oh no, not the scale! *cue shrieking woman* 🙂 Well, I can empathize with the negative self-talk. The scale does seem to bring on an onslaught of it. But I think what helps me is telling myself that I’m more than a number, and that the number doesn’t always reflect health or even size. A size 6 can weigh 125, but she can also weigh 140, ya know? Plus, you have a fiance that loves you very much, and you’re totally going to blow him away in your wedding dress, which by the way, I’m still in suspense about.

  2. Steph January 5, 2013 at 1:26 pm #

    Usually a chat with friends or trying out a new recipe will shake the blues. I understand though- we all have those days!

    • kristyshealthrevolution January 5, 2013 at 3:38 pm #

      Thanks for the tips! My favorite way to cheer up is just to come home, because my fiance always makes me laugh.

Leave a Reply

