Liebster Award Part 2 and Fitness Planning

3 Jan

This morning I was nominated for the Liebster Award again! Anna, at Foodie Trapped in a Dorm nominated me. Thank you so much, Anna! Her blog is so cute, and I love the spin on it — I gained the majority of my weight in college, so I know how hard it is to stay healthy when you live in the dorms. Since I already did a full Liebster post, I thought I’d answer Anna’s questions here:

1. What cake do you choose for your birthday? 

Always, always yellow cake with chocolate frosting. It is the best cake/frosting combo, and chocolate frosting is leaps and bounds better than vanilla. Truth.

2. Describe what your dream kitchen looks like. Colors? Appliances? Organization? 

What a fun question!  I’ve always really liked the look of white cabinets with stainless steel appliances — very clean looking, and a kitchen should always be clean (but I don’t necessarily want to clean it). I also would love the “pop” of color to be in the form of a really cool mosaic back splash. I also really like glass front cabinets and those wine racks and cookbook shelves built into the existing cabinets. Here are some inspiration pictures:

final kitchen

3. What is your favorite movie involving food? Have any recommendations? 

Hands down, Julie and Julia. It’s the most adorable movie! It’s based on a blog/book where a girl spent a year cooking everything from Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking. It’s such a great movie! Not only does it follow Julie’s trials and tribulations, but you also learn a lot about what an awesome lady Julia Child was!

4. What is one food you can not stand? 

There is this “Two Moms in the Raw” gojiberry bar that is sold at Starbucks. I bought one once, thinking it would be a great, healthy snack. It  is, hands down, the worst thing I’ve ever tasted in my life. I hate to give it such a negative review, because it is possible that the rest of their products are great, but I’m too afraid to try them. I still remember the awful taste of that bar. Oh my.

5. Name the weirdest food or food combo you like. 

Apples and cheddar cheese! So good!

6. What is your favorite restaurant? 

This is tough. I’m pretty easy to please when it comes to restaurants, so I have a handful of favorites, but I’d say my very favorite is The Church Brew Works in Pittsburgh.

This place is awesome. It is located in an old church in the East End of Pittsburgh, and not only is the decor beautiful, but the food and drinks are out of this world. If you’re ever in Pittsburgh, I highly suggest you eat here! And also about 20 million other restaurants which I can list if you just want to email me 🙂

7. What is your favorite food magazine? 

Eating Well or Real Simple (which isn’t really a food magazine, but has great recipes)

8. Breakfast, lunch or dinner? 

All three?? I love all my meals! Don’t make me choose! Ok, I choose Saturday brunch! 🙂

9. What dish do you make that you are always proud to share with others? 

Pizza! I love making homemade crust, and I always make pizza when I invite friends over for dinner.

A typical his and hers homemade pizza

A typical his and hers homemade pizza

10. Do you plan your week’s meals or just make whatever sounds good each day? 

I sort of plan. Zach and I are creatures of habit, so we eat the same meals week after week with a little variety thrown in here and there. It’s easy for me to do the grocery shopping, because I’m always buying roughly the same things.

11. What is your dream job? 

Fitness and food blogger/writer/chef/personal trainer!

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Ok, since that felt really long, I’ll try to be quick.

Two of my goals for 2013 are to run 600 miles and plan my strength training for 3 days/week with specific muscle groups targeted. Today, I decided that instead of doing a week by week plan, it would be easier for me to plan out each month. So, I printed out a blank calendar template that I happened to download recently from here, and I got to work:

Step One:

step one

I added in what I have done the past two days, and then for each Friday, I put in the 6:15 AM yoga class I like to attend and Leg Day. I figure that since yoga only goes until 7:00, I’ll have 30 minutes to get in a muscle group before I have to go home to get ready for work. Leg day fits in well here, because you can do a lot with legs in a short amount of time, and it’s a good thing to fit in on a non-cardio day. I also added in the Boot Camp class that I like which is held every other Saturday, and gave myself an off day on January 12th, since I have plans that day.

Next, I added in a long run on each Sunday. More about that later.

Step 2 and 3: 

step 2 and 3

Next, I added in the three other muscle groups I want to focus on (Abs/arms, chest and back and shoulders) on 3 separate days. You can’t see it here, but I put abs and arms on long run days (this may change in later months when I’m running longer distances), and added chest/back and shoulders on Tuesdays and Thursdays. I will also do a run on these days. That leaves Mondays and Wednesdays free to take my Cardio Fusion class that I love, and the other for a rest day. I like giving myself options on some days so the plan doesn’t feel so rigid.

Step 4: 

Next, I wanted to make sure I got in my mileage for the month. 600 miles means about 50 miles a month. I wanted to plan for more than than that, just in case life happens and I miss a run.

step 4

After adding today’s mileage and all my long runs, plus about 3 miles for each cardio day (I may run less or more than that, depending on how I’m feeling), I’ll run about 56.5 miles this month. That gives me a bit of wiggle room either way, and also allows me to get the mileage in for the month.

One note: I started out by dividing 600 miles over 365 days. If I do that, that means I have to run a little over 1.6 miles a day, and that stressed me out a bit. Once I did the math over each month, I felt a little less stressed about it. I can run 50 miles a month!

Question of the Day:
How do you plan out your workouts? 

5 Responses to “Liebster Award Part 2 and Fitness Planning”

  1. Haley @ The Saucy Apple January 3, 2013 at 4:04 pm #

    Love how you re-purposed the calendar template! Excellent idea!

  2. beckie January 3, 2013 at 8:40 pm #

    I am so glad my planner is helping you keep track of your fitness goals!

  3. Dorm Foodie January 4, 2013 at 7:46 pm #

    I loved all your answers! Se people think yellow cake and chocolate icing is boring but it’s the simplicity that make it an awesome combo! I also love Julie and Julia! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

