My Favorite Cold Weather Running Accessory

6 Jan

I just had to post again today to tell you about my first “long” run post-injury! Now that my knee is pain free from the IT band injury in November, and after being fitted with some sweet running shoes that will adjust my gait, I’m ready to start building up my mileage again. On the agenda today was 4 miles.

Crazy, sweaty, happy post-run face.

Crazy, sweaty, happy post-run face.

I had an amazing run. It wasn’t easy — not by a long shot — but it felt great, I was pain free, and I was in a groove. Don’t you love that?

When I run in the ‘cold’ (some of you may laugh at my idea of cold, as it rarely gets below 30 degrees Fahrenheit around here, and when it does, I run exclusively on the treadmill), I layer it up. I wear my Under Armour running tights with shorts over them, a long sleeve dri fit compression shirt with a t-shirt over that (and if it’s closer to freezing, a jacket over all of that), gloves and my favorite cold weather running accessory:

IMG_0352
This Bula hat isn’t actually a ‘running’ accessory, per se. I got it in Snowshoe, WV at a snowboarding and ski shop on top of the mountain. It’s pretty thin, but it’s made of this fuzzy material that keeps my head quite warm. But the very best thing is this:

IMG_0351
….built in headphones! The sound quality is great, too! There is a volume control on the wire:

IMG_0350
…which allows you to adjust the volume without pulling out your phone or music player. I love this hat so much, that I start to get kind of excited when the weather is cool enough to wear it. I have a lot of trouble with keeping headphones in my ears. Even Yurbuds (which everyone swears by) slip out of my oddball ears, so wearing this hat is a dream. I don’t have to worry about adjusting earbuds the whole time, I just go.

I was a little worried about sweating in this hat because of the built in headphones, but I’ve been sweating in it for 2 winters now with no problems. I assume snowboarders sweat, too, so I’m sure the company took that into account.

I looked on the Bula Website, but I’m not seeing any products on the products page. If you’d like to own one of these hats, you should check your local ski/snowboard retailer.

Yay for a great start to my weekly long runs!

Question of the Day:
What’s your favorite running accessory? and Is anyone else as pumped as I am about the Biggest Loser premiere tonight!? 

3 Responses to “My Favorite Cold Weather Running Accessory”

  1. savorlifesflavors January 6, 2013 at 8:52 pm #

    Love the hat! I am also way too excited for Biggest Loser tonight!!! Especially because Jillian is back!

  2. Haley @ The Saucy Apple January 6, 2013 at 10:21 pm #

    How cool! I love secret compartments in fitness gear. It’s gotten to be where I won’t by gear that doesn’t have some kind of cool hidden feature. 🙂

  3. cdanie11e January 6, 2013 at 10:27 pm #

    so cool!!

Leave a Reply

