Sunday Breakfast

13 Jan

Good morning!

I hope you’ve had a great weekend. I had a very nice weekend. On Friday night, I got to hang out with some great friends and do a little dancing, and on Saturday night, I got to sit on the couch and watch movies with the love of my life.

Since Zach and I had a heavy and late lunch on Saturday, dinner ended up just being whatever we had on hand. Zach wasn’t hungry yet when I was ready for dinner, so I ended up having a peanut butter and jelly sandwich and some leftover chili. I know, random. Then after one movie, I realized Zach still hadn’t eaten, so I made some popcorn.

Since I basically fed him popcorn for dinner, I figured I should make up for it at breakfast this morning. I was in the mood for something decadent, sweet and delicious. WARNING: What I’m about to show you has not be healthified. It is full of white flour, sugar, butter and boy was it worth it.

crepes

 

Ricotta stuffed crepes with fresh blackberry syrup. Oh my.

I used this recipe, and it was perfect. I cut the recipe in half and it made three crepes. I could eat the ricotta filling, which is just ricotta cheese, powdered sugar and vanilla, with a spoon. Zach had one crepe, a fried egg and some bacon. I just had two amazing crepes. I was lucky enough to have some blackberries from summer in the freezer still, so the blackberry glaze was incredible. However, next time I will not use as much sugar in the glaze, because I like that bitter blackberry flavor.

Now, back to my cleaning spree, then it’s off to the gym to burn off some of that decadent breakfast!

Question of the Day:
What did you have for breakfast. 

 

 

6 Responses to “Sunday Breakfast”

  1. cdanie11e January 13, 2013 at 2:42 pm #

    that looks amazing!! Maybe I’ll make this as a reward for myself if I make my weight loss goal in a few weeks!

  2. di @ life of di. January 14, 2013 at 5:17 pm #

    Wow those look AMAZING! I stuck with my typical oats and banana for breakfast both days but mixed up my dinners a bit (Saturday the hubby and I went out for Mexican food and last night we had salmon at my parents house) Tonight I am planning on eating light. It was a big day of eats (I nanny and for some reason I was ravenous today. Maybe it was the cold weather change?)

  3. Kimberly January 14, 2013 at 6:38 pm #

    I nominated you for the Liebster Blog Award! http://mylivefitlife.wordpress.com/2013/01/14/liebster-blog-nomination/

  4. Haley @ The Saucy Apple January 14, 2013 at 7:21 pm #

    How yummm! I love crepes, and I love ricotta, so I’m pretty sure I’d do a double flip for these. 🙂

  5. happyappalachy January 15, 2013 at 8:52 am #

    This looks fabulous! I’ve been wanting to try making my own crepes for a while. I may have to give them a try this weekend.

    • kristyshealthrevolution January 15, 2013 at 8:54 am #

      They were really easy! The recipe told me to mix the batter in the blender to get rid of any lumps, but I didn’t even feel like cleaning the blender so I just beat it by hand a lot and they turned out fine. I’m already thinking about making savory crepes next.

Leave a Reply

