I’ve Got the Boot Camp Blues

15 Jan

Yesterday morning I woke up and went to the gym, I hit up my favorite cardio fusion class like normal. It was a good class, lots of cardio and strength intervals.

After work, Zach had to do some travelling for work, so I was on my own in the evening. Turns out, it’s boring sitting around the house by yourself. So, I decided to hit up the 7:30 Boot Camp Class at my gym.

Whew.

I’ve been to the Boot Camp class that is taught by these two trainers at my gym, and I knew it was no joke. I was dreading it the whole time I walked to the gym, and the whole time I sat there listening to the regulars talk about how we were doing “22’s” and how sore they were after doing them last time. I had no idea what they were talking about, and I was nervous.

After a ten-minute warm up on the track, I was quickly assimilated into the world of “22’s”. Basically, we were split up into three groups. On the whistle, we had to sprint the length of the gym 4 times (up and back twice), shooting for 22 seconds. After you were done, you waited for the other two groups to go (basically, a 44 second rest) and then went again. Ten times. The first few times, it’s fun. After that you’re dying to stop, but I didn’t! By the tenth time, I barely made it to half court on the last length before he called 22 seconds. If you have an empty gym and you’re looking for a good workout, try it!

After that, there were some kettlebell drills and seal walks across the gym. I took off early because the weather was getting bad and I wanted to be home when Zach got there.

I’ll tell you what, I might be doing intense workouts later in the evening more often. That workout knocked me out! I was pretty sleepy by the time Zach got home, but I forced myself to stay up and chat with him for a while, but by the time I climbed into bed, I was out like a light. I even skipped the early morning gym this morning, because I just wanted to sleep some more. Hopefully I’ll get a chance to go for a run later this evening.

In food news, here is a picture of my new favorite breakfast. A sausage, egg and edamame scramble with a little cheese and sriracha. Looks small, but it packs a protein punch that keeps me satisfied for quite some time. I love breakfast scrambles. I just cook up whatever veggies and/or meat I want, beat an egg on the side, then pour it in when the veggies/meat are almost cooked. Oh yum!

2013-01-10 17.57.16

 

I hate blog posts with no pictures, don’t you?

Question of the Day:
What was the toughest workout you’ve had recently? 

 

Leave a Reply

