“Wild” Wednesday!

16 Jan

This week is going by quickly! Last week was the first full 5-day work week for me in a while because of the holidays, and it felt like it went by so slowly. This week is flying by, which is a good thing!

Has the weather been terrible where you live? It has been so rainy and grey here the past few days. I’m ready for some sunshine! Luckily, it looks like things are going to shape up just in time for the weekend:

weather

 

That’s great news, because I’m really looking forward to my next run with Margot. Looks like I should shoot for Saturday, based on the forecast above.

I slept restlessly last night, so when my alarm went off this morning to go to the gym, I wasn’t exactly raring to go. I lay in bed fighting myself for a while, but I knew I had to get up and get moving. After a stellar day of fitness on Monday, I wasn’t able to make it to the gym yesterday. After work, I had an appointment to get my hair cut, and then Zach and I hit up the grocery store because the cupboards were bare. By the time I got home, I was starving and I knew I wouldn’t be able to get in my workout.

This morning, the plan was to run. I haven’t logged any  miles at all this week, and although I had a great week last week, I need to keep up the mileage if I’m going to reach my goal of 600 miles in 2013! It was rainy and cold when I headed out to the gym, and once I got there, I realized I had forgotten my phone and headphones. There was no way I was going to run on the treadmill without music, so I hit up my Cardio Fusion class instead. I’m glad I did, it was a great workout, but I hope I’ll be able to get on the treadmill this evening and log some miles.

I tried something different with breakfast this morning. One thing I know that I need to do is give my muscles some protein after my workout, and I’m guilty of just waiting until I get to work to eat. So, right after the gym,  I tried out a sample of  Click Espresso Protein powder that I had.

From the Click website

From the Click website

It was good! I’m not 100% certain I love the ingredient list. I haven’t had time to research all the ingredients, but it was tasty and had 13 grams of protein. I blended the powder with some cold coffee leftover from yesterday, about a quarter cup of vanilla almond milk and a whole banana. It was certainly tasty, and very coffee flavored, especially since I added some brewed coffee to it.

When I got to work, I had the other part of my breakfast, half a whole-wheat bagel with neufchatel cheese, some vitamins and a glass of water:

IMAG1014

I am very sporadic about taking vitamins! I have made resolutions to take my vitamins more often again and again and I always end up forgetting. However, I do notice that my general mood is much better when I remember to take my Vitamin D, especially when the weather is as yucky as it has been. So, I’ll try to remember it more often. I’m afraid this breakfast won’t keep me satisfied until lunch, so I tucked an apple in my purse to munch on in a bit if I need it.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Let’s get to the title of this post!

I recently finished the book Wild by Cheryl Strayed, and I wanted to talk a bit about it here.

I love the subtitle of this book: “From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail” — once you’ve read the book, it’s quite appropriate. My friend Ashley lent me this book way back in the summer, and I’ve been a terrible friend and kept it laying around for quite some time. I read the first chapter and set it aside for a few months. I picked it up again after the holidays were over, and pretty much devoured it.

After the death of her mother and her divorce, Cheryl Strayed was lost. Without giving away too much, she went through a very rough time, and participated in a lot of self-destructive behavior. Her mother was basically the glue of her family, so after her death, it seemed the whole family fell apart. While at an REI store to buy a snow shovel, Cheryl spots a guide book about the Pacific Crest Trail, and thus begins her journey.

Cheryl decides, despite her lack of hiking experience, that she will traverse the Pacific Crest Trail, alone, from the Mojave desert to Washington State. She buys all her supplies, packs boxes to be mailed to herself at various stops along the way, and hitches a ride to the trail — with a pack roughly half her weight.

Her journey, while mostly uneventful as  this review from the New York Times notes, is incredible. I was inspired by Cheryl’s journey. While it’s true, she didn’t encounter too much trouble, other than her inexperience, her journey will inspire you.

I think my favorite part about this book was her honesty. It’s raw — there are things in this book that will make you cringe, but it’s that honesty that makes you really feel for her as she learns the way of the PCT. I felt her heavy pack and her yearning for the love of her mother.

Question of the Day:
Tell me a good book you’ve read recently. 

 

 

 

3 Responses to ““Wild” Wednesday!”

  1. Holly A. January 17, 2013 at 10:44 am #

    Hi Kristy!

    Ah breakfast – I have struggled with finding something decent to eat on the go for ages. I’m currently on a (quite expensive) Clif Mojo bar kick. They are delicious, organic, contain no animal products and it says “low glycemic index” right on the packaging. For all those loves, there is just one thing that bothers me (besides the price tag) and that’s the #1 ingredient: organic brown rice syrup. Yeah… Anyway…

    I have always dreamed of writing something like wild but I’ve never felt like that much exposure was realistic. Maybe I should aspire to write a journal for me while I hike the PCT? 🙂 I’m reading the divergent trilogy. More fictitious adventure than real emotional journey…

  2. happyappalachy January 20, 2013 at 2:35 am #

    I really want to read this, and I want to read it even more now that I’ve read your review!

Leave a Reply

